We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very basic, but clean. We slept in a double room with en suite (a bit funny, because the shower and the toilet was in the room and was only separated with a glass wall). Excellent location, you can walk or cycle almost everywhere (bike rental is opposite the hotel). The staff are very friendly. It can get loud in the night, depending who your neighbours are. The bar downstairs have some good deals on alcohol, but the food isn't the best. I only booked this hotel, because it was cheap and in good location. It was better than I expected it to be.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review. Great to read you liked your stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    151
    152
    67
    68
See reviews for
4
32
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Warning, this post may be long but it tells you everything you need to know before staying in this hell hole!
Before I start, yes we understand this is a BUDGET hotel as the staff seem to stress so much when generically replying to peoples bad reviews but this is in no way shape or form a 'budget' hotel! I wouldn't even go so far as to call it a hostel.
Let me begin:
- First, upon arriving the staff at reception were so slow checking us in, painfully slow and had no sense of urgency about them
- When getting to the room (staying as part of a group) the room wasn't the biggest but that's fine, the bathroom was tiny, and the top bunk had no stairs to get to it!!!! Even a budget hotel would give you the luxury of having stairs to get up to your bed!
- That night trying to sleep was horrific, cold, noisy, and all you could smell throughout the hotel was the smell of marijuana, it wasn't just a little smell either it was a stench throughout all of the building, even though they have a sign in reception saying no marijuana that clearly didn't stop people and it is something that they obviously do not police.
- The next morning after a terrible terrible shower, If you could call it that, it was breakfast time.
Now don't get me wrong I usually stay in places that you get a free breakfast included which should be just that, FREE! Again the staff when replying on Trip Advisor say that they have a continental breakfast that includes juices, pancakes, fruit.....you have to pay extra for all of these things, yes you did read that right, for a breakfast that you have technically paid for with your room (although they again like to stress the fact that it is free) they charge you for a tiny class of juice!
- If breakfast wasn't bad enough they had a cat a real live cat wandering through the dining room/bar area and to our horror it wandered into the kitchen! Thankfully we hadn't eaten all of our breakfast so we could leave the rest. If it wasn't bad enough that it went into the kitchen, it was then wandering around on top of all the tables, we were both again disgusted and mortified! If that happened in Australia, you would get shut down and you should be ashamed of yourself Hans Brinker than you let this happen considering people have allergies and you claim that even though you are a budget hotel, that you are at least clean...well you are not!
The only good point was the location, THAT IS IT, everything about this place makes my skin crawl. This was our last stop in Europe before going back to London to come home and I must say that this place nearly ruined Amsterdam for me.
Before I get a reply from Hans Brinker for this, we have stayed in many budget hotels, and many hostels, you perhaps could take a leaf out of some of the other hostels/budget hotels out there and up your game, being the worst hotel in the world isn't something to be proud of!

Room Tip: The only tip I have is DON'T STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

First of all, we do not stress receiving a bad review. We would like to receive honest reviews so we can improve our hotel / services. Second of all, we do have a strict no drugs policy and we do not allow smoking inside. About our breakfast, we serve coffee, tea, breads & spreads, fruit, yoghurt, pancakes and boiled eggs for free, so your review is NOT correct regarding our breakfast. You only have to pay little when you would like to have fried eggs or something (things not available at our buffet). We clean our rooms and common areas every do, so we are a a clean hotel!

If you have more complaints or questions, please send an email to sybil@hans-brinker.com.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Ive never stayed in a hostel before in my life. Went with my university for a cheap weekend away.

Having read some of the reviews on here I was a bit worried! But it actually wasn't too terrible!

I think I was prepared for the worst!
( However, make sure you take your own pillow and a towel. We went on a coach so were able to do this)

To sum it up... its the most basic hotel I've ever stayed in!
But it was clean and did the job!
The shower was hot and the bunk beds were okay. WARNING: there are no steps to get to the top bunk!

The seating communal area was probably the nicest part of the hostel.
The large yellow sign is also so helpful on a night out!

The location was very good.

Its ideal for a very cheap stay. I don't think I could have lasted more than two nights though!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your message!

Actually you don't have to bring your own pillow or towel, as we provide pillows, bed linen and a towel for every guest (bed linen and towel will get changed daily).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Get one thing straight before you come here its a crap hole!
as long as you are happy with that go out in Amsterdam get battered and enjoy your stay!
Rooms are dirty, everyone's pretty drunk and the breakfast was pretty grim as well.
Stayed for one fantastic night haha
there's a nightclub underneath as well which is pretty rare as everything seems to shut up around 2.
you kind of get the feel your in prison if not army barracks.

Room Tip: its a Hostel so try to book with 8 people so you don`st end up with strangers in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your comment. Our rooms get cleaned every day (including change of towels and bed linen), but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Our breakfast includes freshly made pancakes, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, breads & spreads and more, so actually our breakfast is really great!

Did you stay for a drink during Happy Hour at the bar?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Im going to be honest when it comes to hotels i can be really snobby and like things to be quality but this hotel was nothing like i ever stop in but i loved it! I had read some really bad reviews before the trip but when i got there i was really impressed. If you are looking for a basic room for the night then this is the place! The drinks are so cheap and so is the food! The bed got made for the 3 nights we were there and i couldn't fault anything except the bathroom could of been a bit bigger but the shower was really nice! The beds are comfy and the staff are really friendly! If your a bit snobby and really think that this isn't for you, take it from me! Its central to everything and there is a bike rental for 24hr next door! You must come here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your great review! You have described our hotel exactly the way we are! We hope to see you again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Hans Brinker is a hotel that you visit with extremely low expectations. For little £ is is going to be basic.

The room I stayed in was absolutely fine! Clean and comfortable, (minus the pancake pillow).

The Breakfast was rubbish - so find somewhere to eat out. There is a nice breakfast place on the same street.

Staff - seemed pleasant.

Shower towels are tinny - but manageable.

Overal, good value for money, business student atmosphere, clean and decent place to rest whilst visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review and great to read you've had a great stay at our hotel!

Ou breakfast though includes freshly made pancakes, fruits, cereals, yoghurt, bread and spreads, coffee, tea and more.

We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's a nice hostel, clean, staff are nice and courteous. Only gripe is it is quite far from town centre but that's ok as Amsterdam is a lovely city to wall about...the breakfast room bit at the hostel is cool too. Generally good and would recommend ...their marketing is also entirely hilarious!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi!

You've obviously visited the wrong places as our hotel is right in the middle of Amsterdam city center. We are located 3 min walking distance away from entertainment area Leidseplein and Museumplein as we are located between the famous canals!

Great to read you would recommend us and we hope seeing you again soon!!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..no swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It’s located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.