We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect for a Hostel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What you would expect for a Hostel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Ive never stayed in a hostel before in my life. Went with my university for a cheap weekend away.

Having read some of the reviews on here I was a bit worried! But it actually wasn't too terrible!

I think I was prepared for the worst!
( However, make sure you take your own pillow and a towel. We went on a coach so were able to do this)

To sum it up... its the most basic hotel I've ever stayed in!
But it was clean and did the job!
The shower was hot and the bunk beds were okay. WARNING: there are no steps to get to the top bunk!

The seating communal area was probably the nicest part of the hostel.
The large yellow sign is also so helpful on a night out!

The location was very good.

Its ideal for a very cheap stay. I don't think I could have lasted more than two nights though!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your message!

Actually you don't have to bring your own pillow or towel, as we provide pillows, bed linen and a towel for every guest (bed linen and towel will get changed daily).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    207
    197
    82
    86
See reviews for
7
48
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Get one thing straight before you come here its a crap hole!
as long as you are happy with that go out in Amsterdam get battered and enjoy your stay!
Rooms are dirty, everyone's pretty drunk and the breakfast was pretty grim as well.
Stayed for one fantastic night haha
there's a nightclub underneath as well which is pretty rare as everything seems to shut up around 2.
you kind of get the feel your in prison if not army barracks.

Room Tip: its a Hostel so try to book with 8 people so you don`st end up with strangers in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your comment. Our rooms get cleaned every day (including change of towels and bed linen), but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Our breakfast includes freshly made pancakes, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, breads & spreads and more, so actually our breakfast is really great!

Did you stay for a drink during Happy Hour at the bar?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Im going to be honest when it comes to hotels i can be really snobby and like things to be quality but this hotel was nothing like i ever stop in but i loved it! I had read some really bad reviews before the trip but when i got there i was really impressed. If you are looking for a basic room for the night then this is the place! The drinks are so cheap and so is the food! The bed got made for the 3 nights we were there and i couldn't fault anything except the bathroom could of been a bit bigger but the shower was really nice! The beds are comfy and the staff are really friendly! If your a bit snobby and really think that this isn't for you, take it from me! Its central to everything and there is a bike rental for 24hr next door! You must come here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your great review! You have described our hotel exactly the way we are! We hope to see you again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Hans Brinker is a hotel that you visit with extremely low expectations. For little £ is is going to be basic.

The room I stayed in was absolutely fine! Clean and comfortable, (minus the pancake pillow).

The Breakfast was rubbish - so find somewhere to eat out. There is a nice breakfast place on the same street.

Staff - seemed pleasant.

Shower towels are tinny - but manageable.

Overal, good value for money, business student atmosphere, clean and decent place to rest whilst visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review and great to read you've had a great stay at our hotel!

Ou breakfast though includes freshly made pancakes, fruits, cereals, yoghurt, bread and spreads, coffee, tea and more.

We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's a nice hostel, clean, staff are nice and courteous. Only gripe is it is quite far from town centre but that's ok as Amsterdam is a lovely city to wall about...the breakfast room bit at the hostel is cool too. Generally good and would recommend ...their marketing is also entirely hilarious!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi!

You've obviously visited the wrong places as our hotel is right in the middle of Amsterdam city center. We are located 3 min walking distance away from entertainment area Leidseplein and Museumplein as we are located between the famous canals!

Great to read you would recommend us and we hope seeing you again soon!!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The hostel was just what I expected, nothing special but clean. The staff are helpful. The rooms are very basic and we shared with two girls we did not know in an en-suite room. It's in a good location and the breakfast is adequate. The wifi was good in the hotel reception but was not available in rooms. They advertise as the sort hostel in the world, this is basically so if you complain they can say 'I told you so.' Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for letting us know you've had a great stay at our hotel!

Hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Everything is good. You got a clean room and bed, toilets and big bar.
You get cheap and best.
You got free wifi but you get that only in the bar. Though they say dont attend to your compliants they do. They also give you a free cloak room to store your bags on the day when you check out as the check out very early and if you want roam the city a while you can put your bags in there for free and go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your comment! Great to read you've had a nice stay at our hotel! Did you also got a drink at our underground club?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.