We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've stayed at in 30 years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've stayed at in 30 years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I ended up in Amsterdam on a busy weekend in November. The attraction was not the weather but I could not find a room at any of the hotels I usually stay at. I liked the location of this, which is the ONLY thing it has going for it. It's basically a hostel which has private rooms which rent as
if they're a hotel. The halls with linoleum floors echo every sound including every door opened, closed, locked, unlocked, every cell phone call. Impossible to sleep. NOT a hotel, a youth hostel masquerading and charging as a hotel. Skimpy towel, no reading light, no soap or cup in the bathroom. I"ve posted a video about it on youtube, that's how horrible it was. Check out the video: http://youtu.be/I1cjD3kh9sI

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, any other hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi,

We are a BUDGET hotel, one of the cheapest in Amsterdam. For such a low price you simply can't expect much, besides what we offer: a basic but clean room with an ensuite bathroom, clean bed linen and a towel and FREE continental breakfast. As we inform our guests you can't expect luxury at our hotel, but everything you need for a fun and cheap stay in Amsterdam. We have a great bar, restaurant and club, including free wifi, cheap drinks and cheap and fresh meals.

Your video shows exactly what we are (as well as our website shows), but too bad you don't show how great our bar and restaurant is, how we serve freshly made pancakes at our breakfast and we can arrange any kind of activity in and around Amsterdam.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    165
    163
    73
    73
See reviews for
4
37
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hostel is a great place if you are happy with clean, cheap, basic accommodation. The rooms are basic with clean bedding and bathrooms. Decent sized lockers although very squeaky! Reception provides great trips and nights out, unfortunately I never managed to attend any but they seemed reasonably priced. The hostel has a great bar and restaurant with plenty of seating and offers a wide variety of battered food, just what you need after a night out at the nearby Leidseplein!

Room Tip: Depending on what kind of party you are with, if you are looking for a decent sleep choose the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review!

We hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights! The rooms are old basic style bunk beds with a lockable storage locker for your things (props as a lot of euro hostels do not provide locks!), you share one toilet/shower with your roomies. I was lucky enough to stay my first two nights in a room with just two other beds, as I knew the girls I was with. The third-fifth night I was moved to a 6 bed room, unlucky if you were on the top bunk as there are no ladders or anything to climb up onto the bunk. However, at 18Euros per night, how can one complain?

WiFi only works in the communal areas, you cannot get access from your room, the bar has a good happy hour deal, and is a nice quanit set-up, a good place to socialise and meet some folk to go out on the town with later in the evening. They do nice meals, cheap! Good selection at the cafeteria style dining area.

Excellent location! Close to the tram line, close to the main nightlife area, and about a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area. Only a 30min scenic walk to the red-light district! Directly opposite from Mike's Bike tours where you can hire a bike cheaper because you are a Hans Brinker guest, and then you are set! About 5 doors down there is a cheap laundry-mat, where for just 7 euros they will wash, dry, iron a basket for you - convenient!

Room Tip: Pick a cheap room, who cares if you share, if you're doing Amsterdam properly you won't be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Great to read you've had the best stay at our hotel! About our location: we are located between the famous canals and it's only a 3 min walk to the shopping streets, Leidseplein entertainment area and Museumplein.

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed my stay. The 'worst hotel in the world' business is kind of a silly add on, quite unique but not true. It was clean, not too noisy and the staff was friendly. I would stay again and enjoyed it. Great location as well!

Room Tip: I stayed in a twin room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Our advertisement is indeed more funny than true!

We hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Basic hostel with no frills, friendly atmosphere and simple breakfast. Downstairs there is a club which feels alittle sorded with all the graffiti - but actually quite fun. Decent place to stay in a central location to see beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review! Did you visit our Happy Hour and our restaurant as well?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pancevo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel has the great unique ad as "The worst hotel in the world".
It is not so horrible really if you expect "the worst". You will find that it is appropriate value for money. Hotel is on very good location, with great and spacious area by the lobby, where meals are served. Best of all is that public transport (tram) is nearby the hotel. Accomodation is few minute walk to the Leidseplein and museums at Museumplein. Good thing is that every guests have its own locker for personal belongings with the key. We stayed in multiple (6/1) bedroom that are not spacious enough, and upper bunk beds are difficult to access. I did not liked bathrooms in the rooms, because they are small, with white tiles, without real shower cabin. After bathing, floor surface is always soaking wet. Maid was cleaning the sanitary every day, which is good. The ventilation in the room is poor, since window can be opened only slightly. Every day maid was cleaning the bathroom, toilets, and other, which is good.
We had good buffet breakfast: several types of drinks (milk, tea, coffee, orange juice), several types of jam, butter, sour cream, several types of bread, cheese, salami and eggs.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with fewer beds per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review!

For your next stay in Amsterdam: we have 2, 3, 4 and 5 persons bedrooms as well, all with ensuite bathrooms.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Haha! I'm giving this hostel a 5 star rating because I know they actually try to be the worst. With all the advertisements and marketing that goes into making this the worlds worst hostel, I'm actually quite proud to have stayed here. Yes it's as bad as they say, there's a horrid smell, everything's rusty, you wonder if the shower actually cleaned you because the bathrooms are so small and germ infested. the beds are uncomfortable, and the breakfast is as basic as can be. But, I'm a fan of creative marketing, and wow they have done such a great job at being the worst. I'm happy to say, I've done it once, but thank god it was only for one evening. Hats off to anyone adventurous enough to stay here =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Great you understand our campaigns and more important, you thought they are hilarious! And in real life: we are a basic hotel, but with everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.