We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills with a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No frills with a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Basic hostel with no frills, friendly atmosphere and simple breakfast. Downstairs there is a club which feels alittle sorded with all the graffiti - but actually quite fun. Decent place to stay in a central location to see beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review! Did you visit our Happy Hour and our restaurant as well?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    155
    152
    68
    69
See reviews for
4
33
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pancevo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel has the great unique ad as "The worst hotel in the world".
It is not so horrible really if you expect "the worst". You will find that it is appropriate value for money. Hotel is on very good location, with great and spacious area by the lobby, where meals are served. Best of all is that public transport (tram) is nearby the hotel. Accomodation is few minute walk to the Leidseplein and museums at Museumplein. Good thing is that every guests have its own locker for personal belongings with the key. We stayed in multiple (6/1) bedroom that are not spacious enough, and upper bunk beds are difficult to access. I did not liked bathrooms in the rooms, because they are small, with white tiles, without real shower cabin. After bathing, floor surface is always soaking wet. Maid was cleaning the sanitary every day, which is good. The ventilation in the room is poor, since window can be opened only slightly. Every day maid was cleaning the bathroom, toilets, and other, which is good.
We had good buffet breakfast: several types of drinks (milk, tea, coffee, orange juice), several types of jam, butter, sour cream, several types of bread, cheese, salami and eggs.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with fewer beds per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review!

For your next stay in Amsterdam: we have 2, 3, 4 and 5 persons bedrooms as well, all with ensuite bathrooms.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Haha! I'm giving this hostel a 5 star rating because I know they actually try to be the worst. With all the advertisements and marketing that goes into making this the worlds worst hostel, I'm actually quite proud to have stayed here. Yes it's as bad as they say, there's a horrid smell, everything's rusty, you wonder if the shower actually cleaned you because the bathrooms are so small and germ infested. the beds are uncomfortable, and the breakfast is as basic as can be. But, I'm a fan of creative marketing, and wow they have done such a great job at being the worst. I'm happy to say, I've done it once, but thank god it was only for one evening. Hats off to anyone adventurous enough to stay here =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Great you understand our campaigns and more important, you thought they are hilarious! And in real life: we are a basic hotel, but with everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location of the hostel is amazing. And for one night this is perfect.
Room and bathroom were clean enough for our needs. The big amount of people who stayed there,didn't disturb us. The staff was professional.
If you just need a good place to sleep, I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are indeed the perfect stay in Amsterdam if you are looking for a cheap and central hostel / hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Firstly this place prides itself on being terrible and not caring about their visitors they advertise it around the hostel. The staff also looked like they didn't want to help and took a while to realise you were standing at the door to let you in. The rooms were very small and the bunk beds very flimsy, I was worried about sleeping on the top bunk and it collapsing, and i'm not that heavy. The bath room was even smaller and water would go everywhere every time someone had a shower. The shower head was not adjustable and the water pressure was terrible. there was also no toilet lid which meant you had to be very careful not to accidentally drop anything in, in such a small area. They have metal keys which should be updated so they can also update their entry doors to be swiped instead of waiting for staff to see you to let you in. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard for european hostels. It was in a good location though, it was right next to Mike's Bike tours which i highly recommend and walking distance to most of Amsterdam including the museum the brewery, the red light district and ann franks house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review. We are a basic hostel in Amsterdam, but we provide everything you need for a stay in central Amsterdam.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Even though they call themselves as the worst hostel in the world, I disagree. Far from being the best thou. A bit noisy but the what I liked the most was that the bathroom was inside the rooms and the biggest room could fit 6 people maximum. Breakfast was not the best but I could get full.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor, are definitely the noisiest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi,

We do have dorms up to 8 people as well. For breakfast, we also serve freshly made pancakes, several kinds of bread and spreads, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, boiled eggs and coffee and tea.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great time at this place. The breakfast was awesome and the dinners and drinks were a great value. The room was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. My 2 20-something kids and I were on a 6 city trip and only stayed in one hostel. I wish we would have booked more because if all hostels were like this, then we would have had a lot more fun and met friends from all over the globe.It is so easy to meet others, compared to the hotels because of the way they have their common area. I must warn you tho, you need to bring your own hairdryer and shampoo. Also the towels are pretty tiny! All in all an EXCELLENT value for the low cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi!

Thank you so much for your great review! Lovely to read you had the best stay at our hotel!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..no swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It’s located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.