We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at being the crappiest hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Nice, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent at being the crappiest hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Haha! I'm giving this hostel a 5 star rating because I know they actually try to be the worst. With all the advertisements and marketing that goes into making this the worlds worst hostel, I'm actually quite proud to have stayed here. Yes it's as bad as they say, there's a horrid smell, everything's rusty, you wonder if the shower actually cleaned you because the bathrooms are so small and germ infested. the beds are uncomfortable, and the breakfast is as basic as can be. But, I'm a fan of creative marketing, and wow they have done such a great job at being the worst. I'm happy to say, I've done it once, but thank god it was only for one evening. Hats off to anyone adventurous enough to stay here =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Great you understand our campaigns and more important, you thought they are hilarious! And in real life: we are a basic hotel, but with everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    136
    141
    59
    63
See reviews for
2
27
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location of the hostel is amazing. And for one night this is perfect.
Room and bathroom were clean enough for our needs. The big amount of people who stayed there,didn't disturb us. The staff was professional.
If you just need a good place to sleep, I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are indeed the perfect stay in Amsterdam if you are looking for a cheap and central hostel / hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Firstly this place prides itself on being terrible and not caring about their visitors they advertise it around the hostel. The staff also looked like they didn't want to help and took a while to realise you were standing at the door to let you in. The rooms were very small and the bunk beds very flimsy, I was worried about sleeping on the top bunk and it collapsing, and i'm not that heavy. The bath room was even smaller and water would go everywhere every time someone had a shower. The shower head was not adjustable and the water pressure was terrible. there was also no toilet lid which meant you had to be very careful not to accidentally drop anything in, in such a small area. They have metal keys which should be updated so they can also update their entry doors to be swiped instead of waiting for staff to see you to let you in. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard for european hostels. It was in a good location though, it was right next to Mike's Bike tours which i highly recommend and walking distance to most of Amsterdam including the museum the brewery, the red light district and ann franks house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review. We are a basic hostel in Amsterdam, but we provide everything you need for a stay in central Amsterdam.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Even though they call themselves as the worst hostel in the world, I disagree. Far from being the best thou. A bit noisy but the what I liked the most was that the bathroom was inside the rooms and the biggest room could fit 6 people maximum. Breakfast was not the best but I could get full.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor, are definitely the noisiest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi,

We do have dorms up to 8 people as well. For breakfast, we also serve freshly made pancakes, several kinds of bread and spreads, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, boiled eggs and coffee and tea.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great time at this place. The breakfast was awesome and the dinners and drinks were a great value. The room was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. My 2 20-something kids and I were on a 6 city trip and only stayed in one hostel. I wish we would have booked more because if all hostels were like this, then we would have had a lot more fun and met friends from all over the globe.It is so easy to meet others, compared to the hotels because of the way they have their common area. I must warn you tho, you need to bring your own hairdryer and shampoo. Also the towels are pretty tiny! All in all an EXCELLENT value for the low cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi!

Thank you so much for your great review! Lovely to read you had the best stay at our hotel!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Simply put this is a hostel not a hotel. It isn't bad for a hostel but as a hotel it's awful. Breakfast was pretty basic. The shower leaked through the bathroom and there was a smell of sewerage coming from the drain. The bunk beds had no rails or ladders which was rather annoying. Convenient location though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi!

We are a BUDGET hotel, which means a really basic hotel, but with everything you need during a fantastic stay in Amsterdam: we have clean rooms with ensuite bathrooms, a bar, a restaurant, an underground club, free wifi at the bar, 24 H reception and free continental breakfast.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with 4 mates for one night last weekend. We were slightly worried with some reviews but weren't planning on spending much time in the hotel so was just a place to rest our heads after a night out.
We arrived and went to use the toilets downstairs which were full of sick not a good start but we checked in at 14:00 and the room was clean and sufficient for what we needed (Toilet, Shower, lockers and bed).The luggage room was very handy saved us carrying bags around (before & after check in/out time). We had a 6 bed room for 5 of us and were told that someone would be put in the room at some point I don’t think the person was impressed when 5 drunk lads came in at 430am.

Overall location is fairly good although the tram line nearby is currently being refurbished. The room was pretty clean and done the job and you really can’t complain for the money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Great to read you had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and you enjoyed staying at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Indeed the nearest tram stop is currently not in use, but you can reach our hotel by tram 5, 16, 24 and 25 and get out at stop Keizersgracht. From there it's a 5min walk to the hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..no swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It’s located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.