We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a fantastic location, walking distance from the red light district and many other attractions and on the same street is a great bike tour company. There's a bar downstairs which has a great atmosphere and the breakfast is very good. While the rooms are nothing special they are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. A great place to meet people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your great message! You have described us exactly the way we are: basic, but really cool!

Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    172
    166
    75
    75
See reviews for
4
39
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The stay here was exactly what is says on the box. "Budget hotel". You get a bed, a small bathroom and a locker. That's it. The bar down stairs seemed good but we didn't stay there long. The adverts are very funny and I bought their book about the history of the hotel. The staff were very nice, allowing me to leave my heavy bag in their secure luggage room after I checked out so I wouldn't have to lug it around all day before my flight.

Note, NO laundry service. Laundromat 2 minutes down road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your nice review! We are in fact a really basic hostel, but we have everything you need for a great stay in Amsterdam: a nice bar, restaurant, club, luggage room, wifi (at the bar and club), free breakfast, ensuite bathrooms and ofcourse the best location in the middle of Amsterdam!

We hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked last minute and saved 15 euro over anything else in the same vicinity. The shower was unusable (like a dripping facet), doors didn't cancel any sound out, no ladders for top bunks, place was ugly and felt rundown, front desk made me wait 20 minutes to check in because of a shift change, the list goes on.

BUT, the breakfast was good (and free), location was good, rooms fairly clean, included towel and sheets, and a new towel each day. And for €22 (vs €40 for other hostels), I would definitely stay again if just looking for a bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are one of the cheapest hostels in town, especially including our free continental breakfast!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time staying here, I was travelling alone and the bar made it easy to meet people, the beds were sufficient and the showers were the best hostel showers I have had, free breakfast was also probably the best I have seen at a hostel... On the downside the music from the club was hear almost every night really late (usually this wasn't an issue for me because I was out late anyway) and one time someone threw up in our bathroom and it didn't get cleaned for the entire time I was there, lack of wifi in the rooms was annoying but probably lead to me making friends so in the end not a bad thing. If you are looking for a chilled out time in Amsterdam don't stay here but if you are up for partying every night and things being slightly dirtier than usual this is the hostel for you. Plus being one of the cheapest in Amsterdam it made for an enjoyable stay. Happy hour was also awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi!

We are one of the cheapest hostels in the centre of Amsterdam! Did you get a nice and cheap meal from our restaurant as well? Indeed we are not a really quite hostel, but we are the place to be for the best time in Amsterdam if you are looking for fun!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hans brinker is in a great spot very close to the shopping street and main action of Amsterdam. It is not as 'terrible' as their marketing suggests, rather an average hostel with all of the necessary facilities.
We recommend the mikes bikes tours down the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Rachel!

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are located in the middle of Amsterdam, just around the corner of the famous Prinsengracht and entertainment area Leidseplein.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed three nights with four friends in 2011 Summer. In spite of disappointing comments, we chose the place as we hadn't had any other alternatives. But, it was quite good, we loved it! 10 minutes walk to VondelPark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are not only 10 minutes from the Vondelpark, we are 3 minutes from entertainment area Leidseplein and Museumplein.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really overpriced for what it was, Stayed in much better places in more expensive citys for almost half the price. Room was cramped, dingy which made it feel unwelcoming and unclean. Happy hour was great. Great location and great advertising is all the place has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your comment. In fact, we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam (compared to other hostels with the same facilities like a 6-persons dorm).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.