We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as they say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not as bad as they say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time staying here, I was travelling alone and the bar made it easy to meet people, the beds were sufficient and the showers were the best hostel showers I have had, free breakfast was also probably the best I have seen at a hostel... On the downside the music from the club was hear almost every night really late (usually this wasn't an issue for me because I was out late anyway) and one time someone threw up in our bathroom and it didn't get cleaned for the entire time I was there, lack of wifi in the rooms was annoying but probably lead to me making friends so in the end not a bad thing. If you are looking for a chilled out time in Amsterdam don't stay here but if you are up for partying every night and things being slightly dirtier than usual this is the hostel for you. Plus being one of the cheapest in Amsterdam it made for an enjoyable stay. Happy hour was also awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi!

We are one of the cheapest hostels in the centre of Amsterdam! Did you get a nice and cheap meal from our restaurant as well? Indeed we are not a really quite hostel, but we are the place to be for the best time in Amsterdam if you are looking for fun!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    228
    215
    91
    94
See reviews for
10
57
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Hans brinker is in a great spot very close to the shopping street and main action of Amsterdam. It is not as 'terrible' as their marketing suggests, rather an average hostel with all of the necessary facilities.
We recommend the mikes bikes tours down the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Rachel!

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are located in the middle of Amsterdam, just around the corner of the famous Prinsengracht and entertainment area Leidseplein.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed three nights with four friends in 2011 Summer. In spite of disappointing comments, we chose the place as we hadn't had any other alternatives. But, it was quite good, we loved it! 10 minutes walk to VondelPark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are not only 10 minutes from the Vondelpark, we are 3 minutes from entertainment area Leidseplein and Museumplein.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really overpriced for what it was, Stayed in much better places in more expensive citys for almost half the price. Room was cramped, dingy which made it feel unwelcoming and unclean. Happy hour was great. Great location and great advertising is all the place has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your comment. In fact, we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam (compared to other hostels with the same facilities like a 6-persons dorm).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I don't quite understand why this has got so many bad reviews we loved it. The rooms are basic but very clean, the location is great and you get free wifi and breakfast. The bar do great deals on drinks and offer food in the evening is really cheap and huge portions. If your looking for a cheap hostel with not too many frills and great staff this one is great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your great and honest review!

Everything you say here is totally correct about the Hans Brinker Hotel: basic, cheap and fun!

See you again?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had an awesome time with my friends there. The location is brilliant. The rooms are ok, clean and you have a locker in the room. In the bar you can play beer pong and have cheep beers and the breakfast was top cool as well. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your comment. Yes, we are the best hostel in Amsterdam, when you come with friends! Now you can not only play beerpong at our bar, we now have a professional beerpong table at our underground club!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I don't quite understand all the bad reviews on here. This hostel prides itself on being horrible and doesn't make excuses. If you've ever stayed at another budget hostel in Amsterdam or otherwise, this shouldn't seem much different.

The hostel is situated in a safe area: close to the tram, close to a popular hangout area, and about a 30 minute slow-walk from the central station. You must check in by noon, and I'll admit that check in takes forever, but we had no issues with our reservation being lost, etc. The hallways and rooms look like a prison. The sound echos like crazy through the hallways at night when kids stumble back drunk and incoherent. This is probably the worst thing we experienced and woke us up every night we were there.

My room was a private double. It had two beds with just enough space to walk in between, as well as two lockers. If you can fit your suitcase or backpack as a carry-on on a plane, it will fit in the lockers. The shower was really a showerhead with no curtain that was situated in between the sink and toilet, so water went everywhere when showering and never really dried.

Breakfast was gross but at least it was free. Wifi was spotty but again, at least it was free. Beer was cheap during the daily "happy hour". There were travellers of all age ranging from teens to late 30s/early 40s, and the male:female ratio was probably 3:2 if I had to guess. Certainly a good mix and I doubt anyone would feel too out of place here.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quiet after 22h or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi,

Our rooms are indeed basic with a bed, a locker and an ensuite bathroom: everthiny you need for a stay in Amsterdam when you don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel which is in the middle of the centre.

Our free continental breakfast contains a choice of bread, coffee and tea, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, homemade pancakes and many spreads.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#251 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#46 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#63 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.