We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a fairly good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Wales
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“It's a fairly good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed with group of friends for two nights across the weekend, and found this hostel fine. Bunk- beds were OK, bedding was clean, bathroom was clean - bit small. there was a large common room / bar where you can eat and drink and get the breakfast (I missed it). Fairly noisy hostel, but with good location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you again soon! Maybe you get to join breakfast next time ;) It is great!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    195
    188
    81
    80
See reviews for
6
48
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The beds were clean, the bathrooms were clean and it was a lot of fun at the time. I don't think I'd enjoy staying there these days.

If you want privacy and peace and quiet, don't stay here. If you want a bed, a shower and a great location then you can get it at the Hans Brinker for a low price.

The staff were friendly and the over all atmosphere was happy and fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for the great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Not the best hotel in Amsterdam, I will give you that. Once said that, we went there for Holland Queen's Day and we have the time of our life. And although rooms are very basic, beds are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are basic but clean. Breakfast is superbasic, but for an extra you can have some hot food. We met lots of nice people in the hotel (it has a disco in the evening, which was great) and they serve food and beer at great price as well. By the way, the location is superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Carlos,

Thanks for the review!

We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just had the best time in Amtsterdam and Hans Brinker! The Hotel is located in the heart of the centre, you can really walk everywhere from the Hotel. The people were very nice and helpfull. I'm definitely going back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel staff were in general friendly and it's cheap and does everything you need. the room was clean. locker was a good size and worked and batheroom was fine.

all issues i had with the trip were caused by the tour opperator and the hotel was quick to act when we arrived and they wern't expecting us even though we had been booked in.

If there was to be an improvement the bar staff could be a little more helpful / friendly and would be nicer to see a bigger choice in food options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your great review!

We hope to welcome you again when you're visiting Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Like a few other reviewers, I stayed here as a part of my tour. If I were given the choice, I would never stay here. No ladder for the bunk beds so I pulled my mattress on to the floor. The bathroom was awful, the shower either spat water or forcefully gushed out, flooding the floor. There was nowhere to put your clothes in the bathroom but the sink. Lockers in the room have to be a joke.
Redeeming features would have to be the nice staff, cheap drinks, location and the "Worst Book" hotel book. They know it's terrible, but they own it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Stevie,

Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. For some people a ladder is an necessary item for the beds. A tip for the next time: ask for a bed at the bottom of the bunk bed (most of the time the receptionists can switch you to a 'downstairs' bed.

We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel after all.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with a travel group last week. Had to be one of the worst experiences of the trip. The hostel stank of weed, our rooms were not clean, and the bathrooms stank of urine. At night, there were drunk people banging on the walls and they turned on the fire hose outside the room at 4 am and managed to get all our luggage wet. Please never stay here-Amsterdam is a wonderful city, but this truly almost ruined it for me

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Sorry to hear your complaints. We are aware of the problems a group made that particular weekend. As a compensation for the inconvenience we offered meal & drinks vouchers to the people of the rooms that did get wet. Normally groups behave themselves really well, so unfortunately this was a terrible incident, just like our bathrooms. Normally they're really clean, but basic.

We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam after all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.