We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel for young fun travelers looking for an 'experience.'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A budget hotel for young fun travelers looking for an 'experience.'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First off: The reviews that harp on this place are probably made by uptight losers.

Second off: We booked this place because we had heard it was an 'experience' and that it wasn't as bad as it sounded. They were right.

The beds were basic but generally clean. The walls were old but the drinks were cheap. The bar downstairs was a great lounge area to meet other diverse young travelers. The location of this place was extremely safe and very convenient! We could walk to the main area of shops, Anne Frank's house, coffeeshops, the "I AMSTERDAM" sign, and even the train station if we wanted to. Just a very short tram ride to the Red Light District, and train station. The cheeky posters made this place what it is, an edgy budget hotel for people with a sense of humor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and three of my friends stayed in this hotel as part of an organised trip with Outgoing, and we had a great trip, largely due to the people we met and the general atmosphere of Amsterdam. We were slightly worried about the hotel after reading bad reviews, but for a group of students who wanted a party weekend it was perfect really. The location is good, a bit out of the centre but a 15 minute walk, or 5 minute “bike taxi” (highly recommended) to Dam square and the Red Light District, and a 10 minute walk the other direction to the museum quarter. The rooms are VERY basic, typical for a youth hostel, but are clean. The beds are bunk beds, and have no ladder to get up to the top bunk, and no rails to stop you from falling, which could be dangerous (especially when drunk) but this didn’t seem to bother us, we just laughed about it every time someone tried to get up or down. No one complained about the beds being un-comfy, however when we slept in them we were all quite drunk. The bathroom was fine, basic but the showers were hot. The toilets are very strange as they are kind of back to front. The best part about the room was the heater, so it was never cold despite it being freezing outside. The hotel bar/dining room had a really nice atmosphere and was easy to talk to people. The breakfasts were just bread Nutella and eggs, but fine. We went out in Amsterdam both Nights we were there and had a great time. We highly recommend the bar crawl, the reps were all great and we had an amazing night! This hotel is great for students and groups, but not really for couples or families!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nikkidannih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

For the reputation of the worlds worst hotel it wasnt as bad as i thought.
Pretty scabby still, very basic. The bathroom was atrocious!
The winner for it was the location though.
I wouldnt say dont stay there, but i would never stay there ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesh1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hans brinker is a fun filled hostel with great fusilities, friendly staff and great location. You will not be disappointed! It is a place to meet lots of people in there bar and night club to start the night befor heading out for a crazy night in Amsterdam. Wake up in the morning for a breakfast which is included before you head out to explore. Price is also pretty good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Affordable- check
Location- check
Clean- check
It is a bit boring but really, it does its job as a youth hostel. Fantastic location, easy to get to/from Centraal Station and to get around, just go across the road to Kings Bikes and hire a bike for the day, the location could not be any better!
I would stay here everytime I go to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandalouise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT09
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in this hostel in April 2012 on a Topdeck tour of Europe. I'd read other reviews of the hostel before we got there, so was a bit nervous. Unfortunately most of the reviews I'd read were completely true. The rooms were like prison cells, with rickety old beds and metal lockers that didn't close properly. Walking down the hallways was like walking through an abandoned old hospital. I could have forgiven the barren, echoing rooms if they'd been super clean, but they weren't. The shared bathroom was the kind that you wear thongs in just to wash your hands. Luckily the bed sheets were clean (or so they looked). The breakfast was minimal and gross. The only saving factor was that it was within walking distance to the main tourist attractions in Amsterdam, very close to a bike hire store and down the street from a cafe that makes potent brownies. I would recommend that, if you have a choice, go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Choose a good room...at another hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hostel room itself was decent but bathroom was terrible. Tiny with a leaky shower which flooded the floor when you showered. Location is not too bad, a quick walk to the tram and you can go anywhere in Amsterdam or walk to the centre if you like. Would recommend for young travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninnynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#257 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing