We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I left my heart at Flying Pig” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Save Saved
You added Flying Pig Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Flying Pig Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Vossiusstr 46-47, Amsterdam 1071 AJ, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I left my heart at Flying Pig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Flying pig is one of those places you go to and never want to leave. I literally wanted to move there (and still do). I've stayed at this hostel twice, and regardless of whatever aesthetic downsides people have mentioned, if you're looking for good people and good vibes, this is the place. The staffs really good with cleaning bathrooms and bedrooms, and staying in the 8-10 people dorms is a blast. Its in a beautiful location as well.

Room Tip: If traveling with a boyfriend/girlfriend they offer a double bunk bed in the larger dorms which is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    103
    52
    21
    20
See reviews for
4
47
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is certainly the location. Very nice area near everything. I've stayed with my sister in a double private room with shared bathroom – there's one bathroom for each two rooms. The room was very small but it was clean and comfy. The internet doesn't work on the rooms. There's a bar in the hostel and also room for smoking. I'm not pretty into partying neither smoking but it don't bother me at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and defiantly happy to party with you at the hostels bar. The rooms were very clean as were the toilets and showers. They had a smoking area and so many coffee shops near by! The kitchen was rather small though and the room only had 3 working electrical outlets for 14 people. Its within walking distance, about 20 mins, to City Centre and the famous RED LIGHT DISTRICT! Which was rather insane i must say! Was also easy to find and had a very big sign so you could not miss it!
Would defiantly recommend this hostel to party goers :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The flying pig certainly has a great location with access to central Amsterdam and all the bars, however one can definitely do better. The place is definitely rough around the edges with worn rooms and beds that have seen better days but the MAJOR issue I had with the place was the bathrooms. The "bathroom" is no bigger than a closet and if you attempt to do anything other than basically stand above the toilet the door does not shut and bangs your knees, meaning that you have to leave it ajar to even sit down. I'm 5'4 on a good day so I can't imagine what someone over 5'5 would do, I'm all for communal living but this isn't something you want to share as an experience with everyone walking down the hall way. Second, the "shower" is just a tiled closet space with a hole in the ceiling and a hole in the floor. However if you can get past these things this hostel is definitely an experience and full of really cool and interesting people that know how to have a good time. They also have several "house cats" on site that lend the place a homeyness, but if you have allergies Beware!

Room Tip: This place books fairly quickly because of its trendy status so the sooner the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The flying pig, as a very central hostel with great access to the party area and awesome restaurants. Easy access to trams and to central Amsterdam. There are a lot of stairs, so be prepared. would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean, bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean for a hostel. Everyday you would see the staff cleaning the rooms and commons areas. My only complaint is that there was only one electrical outlet in our room for 8 people, however everyone in my room was very cooperative about sharing the outlet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you spend some days in Amsterdam either alone or with your bf/gf, and you'd like to spend the night in a room with 1 or two beds, I recommend that you choose another hostel.

Please find below some of my reasons why I do this:

1. The room was very small, overheated, with a window looking to very ugly walls.
2. The staff wasn't that friendly one - they seemed to be arrogant and bored instead.
3. I don't regret many things in my life but one that I certainly do regret is not having shot some photographs in the bathroom - catastrophic conditions, using toilet, shower or anything related to water was always some adventurous but more often embarrassing or annoying challenge.

The location of the place is still great - it's in a peaceful, narrow street next to the Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark and near to the Museumplein and the "everyone's favorite" IAmsterdam "statue".

Room Tip: Very simple: just don't choose the 2-bed room(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel
Address: Vossiusstr 46-47, Amsterdam 1071 AJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.