We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many stairs, OK location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Uptown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Vossiusstr 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too many stairs, OK location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of flights of stairs in the hostel. Luckily my room was on the first floor, otherwise you'd have to lug your luggage through flights of stairs in a narrow path. No air con in hostel. Private shower and toilet in dorm room was good. Caged lockers under bunk beds. Limited seating area downstairs. Breakfast was standard - cereal and bread.

Designated smoking room was good. Each bunk bed had their own charging points. Beds were comfortable. Next to Vondelpark. Near tram stops. Very close to Rijksmuseum and canal bus stops. WiFi was free and good, occassionally dropped out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    140
    66
    24
    19
See reviews for
4
61
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Laid back and chilled out, a great location next to Vondelpark, close to Leidseplain and several museums. Albert Hein, the supermarket is not far. Free internet, clean, comfortable, great atmosphere, full kitchen, and breakfast included. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unfortunately the flying pig downtown hostel was booked up way in advance and so we ended up booking this one after hearing the flying pig were the best hostels to stay in. Therefore, we were expecting big things. We stayed in many hostels in our trip around Europe and I would have to say this was probably the worst. It's really not worth the extra money to stay here! There seemed to be many cheaper hostels in Amsterdam and the only good points about this one were that the beds were clean and it was walkable to good nightlife. The bar area was really small, we had to stand to eat breakfast as there is a lack of tables and chairs. The prices for drinks seemed pretty expensive too. The staff seemed to think they were really 'cool' but weren't friendly and one guy that kindly showed us our room (had to walk up loads of stairs with our backpacks) looked like he was completely stoned. Didn't find the hostel sociable in the slightest and wouldn't recommend it. Maybe downtown would be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here the weekend of 17/18th august 2013 and myself and friend Karen stayed in room 24 - a 12 dorm room. We were happy with the room - toilet and shower just outside, with a sink within the room also. Very happy with the bunk beds and bedding and the temperature of the room was adequate too.
Main point is the Scotish lady on reception. She was very friendly, very efficient, told us all the inofrmation that was needed and helped us with any directions she needed. Overall she is an assest to the hostel.
Beer is cheap here and a segregated smoking room, but it does get hot and annoying you cant go outside.
WARNING - lots of steps in this hostel! You have to go up 10, then down 20 to get to reception, then possibly up another 60 to the top floor! Make sure you dont forget anything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall its a pretty cool joint, designated smoking room, cheapish drinks and clean amenities. Me andy boyfriend shared a pod bunk which is good in theory but the room was soooo hot and there were 6 other people we only had one little fan that sat on the floor. While speaking to others they said their room had air con....so suggest putting it in the rest of the rooms. Oh the breaky was awesome...boiled eggs and real toast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hostel itself and the staff is good. But it seems that most people go there to smoke doobies all day in the smoking room. The location is good and the rooms too. Some showers and toilets did not work during our 5 nights stay. Don't take the 4 people private room, it's the smallest room and the private toilet is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been to the flying pig 4 times in one year! I love Amsterdam that much and of course te flying pig! The staff are friendly, polite and always happy to help! The rooms are trendy, clean and top stuff! The o ly thing I could moan about are all the stairs but that because the hostel is in a Victorian traditional amsterdam town house which is also pretty dam cool!!! The decor, bar, smoking room is great!
Will be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstr 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.