We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot air rises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Uptown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hot air rises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall its a pretty cool joint, designated smoking room, cheapish drinks and clean amenities. Me andy boyfriend shared a pod bunk which is good in theory but the room was soooo hot and there were 6 other people we only had one little fan that sat on the floor. While speaking to others they said their room had air con....so suggest putting it in the rest of the rooms. Oh the breaky was awesome...boiled eggs and real toast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    181
    74
    24
    19
See reviews for
4
71
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hostel itself and the staff is good. But it seems that most people go there to smoke doobies all day in the smoking room. The location is good and the rooms too. Some showers and toilets did not work during our 5 nights stay. Don't take the 4 people private room, it's the smallest room and the private toilet is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the flying pig 4 times in one year! I love Amsterdam that much and of course te flying pig! The staff are friendly, polite and always happy to help! The rooms are trendy, clean and top stuff! The o ly thing I could moan about are all the stairs but that because the hostel is in a Victorian traditional amsterdam town house which is also pretty dam cool!!! The decor, bar, smoking room is great!
Will be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Rooms/bathrooms/showers were all clean and tidy.
This is the first hostel in Europe that has got our booking right and got us all in the same room on the first night.
The bar is awesome and is reasonably priced, did not try the food.
Staff are friendly and has a very relaxed atmosphere
There is a smoking room
Did not use the kitchen in my short stay but seems ok
Breakfast is great and is a nice touch. Eggs, bread, fruit, cereal, coffee/tea and juice

The only negatives are the wifi and lack of air conditioning. The wifi continually drops out or you cannot connect and when you can get on its slow. We were also here in the middle of summer, upwards of 30 degrees Celsius a day so the rooms are extremely hot at night.

All in all a pretty good stay and would stay here again, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay for a weekend, staff were brilliant and friendly. There's a few steep stairs to climb but I think that's the norm, nice chilled out bar with a smoking room, great location for the nightlife around leidseplein just a 5 minute walk down the road. Will cost you around €25 for a taxi to the red light area, the rooms are clean and basic just what ya need for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I it always good to start on a positive and this may be the only one I can muster. The beds are comfy and there is good amount of storage space beneath the beds one more won't hurt the breakfast was pretty good.. Unfortunately the rest of the Hostel failed to impress, we were moved 3 times in 4 nights to accommodate what appeared to be groups. When we were moved on one occasion my companion and I were moved to different floors and we were told there was no space which I accepted however I awoke to a room with four empty unused beds, there was also no working showers on that floor. When I made inquiries about this the following morning nobody could offer an explanation as to why, how or what had happened. I personally found the bar uncomfortable and sparse and I generally got the impression that unless you are there to smoke vast amounts of cannabis and sit in a stupor then the Hostel and Hostel appears to offer you very little. I am personally dumbfounded that this Hostel is part of the Famous Hostel Chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

No real complaints with this hostel!! The rooms are nice, staff are friendly, location is not amazing but its so easily close to tram stops! The stairs are the worst ever!!!!!!!! So many of them! But it's not that bag once your bag is away! Wifi and breakfast are pretty good too!! Overall it was a good experience :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.