We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love these guys!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Pig Uptown to your Saves list
Flying Pig Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love these guys!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at the Flying Pig Uptown and absolutely loved the entire experience! I met lifelong friends here! The rooms were clean and safe and the bathrooms perfect! The bar is a wonderful hangout and has cheap beer and drinks! The hostel staff can book hostels for you elsewhere in Europe as you move on your way! Definitely one of the best hostels in the world! Although slightly more expensive every penny is worth it... Even I'd you consider $20 expensive! Keep doing a great job Flying Pig! I will be back!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    181
    74
    24
    19
See reviews for
4
71
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 14bed dorm for 3nights and found the hostel to be overall very good. The hostel runs a pub crawl each night so that the hostel bar doesn't get loud and that meant we had a great sleep. Breakfast was upscale to what is normally provided and it was free! Bar prices are reasonable, kitchen is really tiny so couldn't get in there. Shared bathrooms were moderately clean (have had cleaner). This hostel was out of city a little bit. Probably a 15min walk which wasn't too bad. Trams are accessible close to hostel also. Hostel is a bit more expensive than your typical hostel but this one has good atmosphere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a magical City. The mood and atmosphere is nothing but chill, kind, and fun. The cities architecture is stunning, canals majestic, and the street performers one of a kind. We all know why this city is famous and everyone who has the opportunity to go should! Let loose, enjoy the laid back lifestyle and enjoy Maryjane.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hostel is definitely a party hostel; don't plan on getting any decent sleep at night.
My room was on the first floor (room B1).
The rooms were nice and clean and so were the toilets which is always nice.
On the second night of my stay they decided to clean my bed and throw out my water bottles even though I was staying another night (I noticed they didn't do this to anyone else).
From my room B1 I could hear everything going on downstairs and at the bar.
The music played at the bar until close. This was no problem for me though as I am usually able to drown out music and constant noise. However this time there was an annyoing person behind the bar belching out untuned lyrics like a fog horn.
I don't know what the hostel staff were thinking of putting the bus about pick up point at the front of the hostel right underneath the window where people are trying to sleep; you can hear everything. Not only are you subjected to late nights because of the bar but early morning because of busabout. The only time I got a decent sleep was in the afternoon when noone was around. They do offer ear plugs for free downstairs but when you have to set an alarm to get up at a certain time i didn't think it would be ideal for me to plug in.
Other than that it was a fun hostel and would recommend it to partiers.
If you want sleep I suggest you stay at inner hostel about 5 mins away.

Room Tip: Higher floors appear to have AC but be prepared to climb up narrow steps. Rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

So many stairs! Easy to access location and next to "Fondle" Park. Great bar and smoking room downstairs. Staff are super helpful with directions, attractions ect. Rooms aren't massive but very clean. Showers and toilets are a bit hit and miss tho.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was Ok. I've been to over 200 hostels, and I can't see what the hype is all about. They outsource all their activities and it seems like the big attraction is the smoking room. The staff was friendly but thy force to to donate the deposit. It was definitely not worth 40 euro. It was not worth it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had lots of fun here, the rooms are great and the bar on the main floor is great. It's a bit of a treck from downtown but it's alright the pub crawl around uptown is lengendary. Every night they have an amazing pub crawl, which I did four times. They pump you up with free shots for half and hour then you go bar/club hoping. It's the best on thursday and friday, too busy saturday. This hostel also has a room to smoke weed in which is really cool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Pig Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.