We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas Hotel to your Saves list
Atlas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Eeghenstraat 64, 1071 GK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Situated right next to Vondelpark this is definitely the hotel to stay in if you want a relaxing time in Amsterdam. Rooms provide everything you need, i'm not fussy when it comes to hotel rooms as we were out all through the day so only really slept there. We arrived an hour earlier before check-in so I asked if we could leave our bags there but instead the room was ready so we were able to check in then, which was great! Our room was on the first floor which was very close to the other two rooms and could hear their doors slamming shut every morning, but I was already awake due to the pigeons out on the window making a lot of noise. So yeah, it was quite noisy in the mornings and they were also putting up scaffolding on the building next door, but none of this is down to the hotel. I'd definitely go back here on the basis of it's location. It's not central at all, but Amsterdam centre is easily accessed by trams and bus stations not even a two minute walk away, but we decided to walk everywhere which is worth it so that you can experience the whole of what Amsterdam has to offer, and it definitely has a lot to offer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
13
91
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

With most beautiful setting and location we had the most relaxing holiday. The hotel is located right next to a lovely park and just round the corner from all the main museums of Amsterdam. Room comfort was good and so was the service and are to detail of the manger. Will stay again and recommend to other as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here last weekend (10-13th), loved the hotel and will 100% be going back. Bed was SO big and comfy. Shower was really good. Tea, coffee and milk in the room (brilliant surprise).

Annoying they charge £3 to leave your bag in the reception for the day- a bit money grabbing.

Location was a bonus, tram 2 stops just outside the hotel and is 5-7 min ride to the centre. We found a taxi costs between 6-14 euros, so avoided that. Easy to get a train/ tram to/from the airport.

Van Gough museum is on the same road as the hotel.

Great location!

Room Tip: 266 is the only room we saw, was great. Nice big windows, big bed and good sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Travelling for a long weekend away on a student budget, you don't want to expect much, but this hotel was so great!

You hop on a 197 from the airport, walk for five minutes and there you are, outside a beautiful hotel! We left our bags in the side room free of charge as we arrived before check-in, and we were only asked for photocopies of our passports, which makes me feel more secure.

The room itself wasn't big, but it was bright and cosy, with a closet, tea making services (a godsend after trouping around the city all day!) and the other usual stuff. I found the mattress to be a bit solid, and the TV had an annoying standby light, but it was otherwise lovely. The en-suite was a reasonable size, but the bath plug didn't have a chain, which led to a ten minute struggle on draining the bath!

Breakfast was great every morning, and they were flexible on time - we weren't kicked out as soon as the period ended, which was nice. There's plenty to choose from at the buffet, though it's mainly continental plus cereal. No problem for us!

The staff were very friendly - we encountered all English speakers, but heard some Spanish and French, so they clearly cater the market. Housekeeping is also daily unless you use the door sign to say no. Upon leaving it'll cost you three euros per bag to store them in that same room, but the staff are happy to let you wait in the lobby if getting a taxi, and there's more lovely artwork to enjoy.

This location is ideal for the 'big three' museums (Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk & Van Gogh), but is a bit of a walk from the centre of town. However, it feels incredibly safe, even when walking late in the dark, and there are buses and trams if you'd rather.

As a note to travellers, February definitely seems to be the low season, with several places undergoing refurbishments. But I'd definitely come back - it was such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here. Although we upgraded our room we heard no complaints from other guests about their rooms. We were perfectly happy with ours. Situation is fantastic if you want to visit galleries. Although there are lots of bars & restaurants close by, if you want the Amsterdam night live stay closer to the centre. We were very happy there as it's in an upmarket residential district for a reasonable cost. Breakfast is absolutely fine. It's adequate and a reasonable choice given that it's a continental breakfast. Went to local Cafe Gruter which had a great choice of beers and food. Minutes away from museums, cafés,bars, supermarkets and public transport. Look out for the wild parrots at the park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The rooms were small but comfortable and the location fabulous - close to the Rijkmuseum and Van Gogh museum in the museum quarter, the tram stop was just across the road and the area had many very good cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Positive: Nice little hotel, excellent location in an fancy residential zone, 5 min walk to the museum's plein, small room but had all the basics.
Negative: you can hear everyone that passes by your door
They charged two euros to print the online check in

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel

Address: Van Eeghenstraat 64, 1071 GK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.