We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Hotel Aspen in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Ranked #140 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome stay at Hotel Aspen in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Yes, the steps were very steep, and we stayed on the third floor, so were winded everytime we arrived at the room. But, the owners were SUPER nice and funny AND helpful. The complex was kept very clean, and is clear that it has been maintained over the years. Private bathrooms, although small and with limited room, were well kept. Also, I caught a glimpse of one of the larger rooms with private bathroom - which looked very nice. My bed was very comfy, and I slept and napped like a rock at hotel aspen. cost effective, clean, and comfortable: Hotel Aspen has my vote for a return stay, steep stairs and all!

Room Tip: If you're flexible on the budget, take the large room with private bath, its worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
81
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Arrived back yesterday from an awesome stay. If you want to pay a good price for a clean, alright room with a clean, alright communal shower and toilet, rather than a paying a bucket load for a poncy hotel, or near to nothing for a night in a crack den, Hotel Aspen is perfect. Honestly you get what you paid for (2 nights for 2 people = €130).

Saying that, the location is soooo good! They're round the corner from everything; the red light district, the main square, the train station, The Anne Frank Huise, Canals, shops... EVERYTHING!

*For a good night out see the red light district just to say you've seen it, but go to Rembrandtplein (maps it) for food, cafes, bars and clubs! Had a wicked night there with the hotel a mere 10 min walk! Realistically the best place to go in Amsterdam!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in a single room on the top floor and listened to the dulcet chimes of Westerkerk for a week. Had shared shower/toilet (but only with one other room on same floor). Room was cleaned & spotless everyday, facilities also spotless. Super location to reach everywhere in Amsterdam either on foot to close things or tram stop 2 minutes away to connect everywhere else. You will see on the website or when you contact the hotel they mention stairs. They will mention it over and over again - steep stairs, no lift. After being awake for 40+ hours and in the air for 22+ I almost keeled over when I saw them. When a Dutch person says steep stairs, think no wider than a size 16, think steep like a ladder and think 3 times as many as a regular flight. 38 to get to reception and another 38 odd to get to the top floor. Just one of the quirks of staying in a pretty old building from 1895 or so. If you're not a 24 hour party person, Room 8, the single costs around the same as a dorm with 10-16 itching, farting, scratching, snoring, drunk, stoned strangers. Of course if you like company other than your own - go for the hostel dorm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moriches, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We got a great deal on this place and it's in the heart of amsterdam. Not more than a 15 minute walk to the epicenter of the town. The owner was super pleasant and very informative. He does live in the hotel and kindly asks that you keep the noise at a minimum when coming back late (and if you're in the room above his, which we were). The room was SO clean and it had basic amenities (which is all you need since you'll be out all day exploring this fabulous city!). As most people mentioned, the stairs are VERY steep and there is no elevator. We managed without too much difficulty and we had two big suitcases and carry ons. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in amsterdam. PS-the street view from out room was enchanting and we paid extra to have our own toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Watch out when arranging accommodation in Amsterdam as they all say "sorry, minimum of 3 nights". Anyway, don't believe them. The nice chap here let us stay (they do make you feel like they're doing you a massive favour) for 2 nights. Very, very clean although don't expect cosy furnishings or warm lighting and décor etc! No TV. All was kind of alright until they started vacuuming outside our bedroom at about 9am on the Sunday morning and then phoned us at 0930 to tell us that check out was at 10am. Luckily we weren't hung over but we would have liked a lie-in during our weekend break. 10am is ridiculous. Unfortunately it means that I've rated this place poorly. You really do feel that you're part of a money-making factory and they just want you to wake up and get out quickly so the next people can come in!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Basic rooms, but a great place to use as a base for exploring Amsterdam. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs are steep but unless you are injured it's no drama. Just around the corner from Anne Frank's house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is far from fancy and the stairs are really steep, but theres so much to do in the City that you won't feel the need to stay inside. The owners of the place are super nice and even gave me a wake up call in the morning so I didn't miss my flight. Biggest perk is its location! Its close to all the good attractions: Madame tassauds, Van Gogh museum, canals, the mall, etc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;