We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
East Moriches, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We got a great deal on this place and it's in the heart of amsterdam. Not more than a 15 minute walk to the epicenter of the town. The owner was super pleasant and very informative. He does live in the hotel and kindly asks that you keep the noise at a minimum when coming back late (and if you're in the room above his, which we were). The room was SO clean and it had basic amenities (which is all you need since you'll be out all day exploring this fabulous city!). As most people mentioned, the stairs are VERY steep and there is no elevator. We managed without too much difficulty and we had two big suitcases and carry ons. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in amsterdam. PS-the street view from out room was enchanting and we paid extra to have our own toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
81
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Watch out when arranging accommodation in Amsterdam as they all say "sorry, minimum of 3 nights". Anyway, don't believe them. The nice chap here let us stay (they do make you feel like they're doing you a massive favour) for 2 nights. Very, very clean although don't expect cosy furnishings or warm lighting and décor etc! No TV. All was kind of alright until they started vacuuming outside our bedroom at about 9am on the Sunday morning and then phoned us at 0930 to tell us that check out was at 10am. Luckily we weren't hung over but we would have liked a lie-in during our weekend break. 10am is ridiculous. Unfortunately it means that I've rated this place poorly. You really do feel that you're part of a money-making factory and they just want you to wake up and get out quickly so the next people can come in!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Basic rooms, but a great place to use as a base for exploring Amsterdam. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs are steep but unless you are injured it's no drama. Just around the corner from Anne Frank's house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is far from fancy and the stairs are really steep, but theres so much to do in the City that you won't feel the need to stay inside. The owners of the place are super nice and even gave me a wake up call in the morning so I didn't miss my flight. Biggest perk is its location! Its close to all the good attractions: Madame tassauds, Van Gogh museum, canals, the mall, etc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in December, 2013. We'd read reviews of how basic the rooms were and how steep the stairs were. This is all true. When we were buzzed in, I burst out laughing when I saw how steep the steps were. Apparently steep steps are common in Amsterdam though. I took my case up the stairs then went back down to take my girlfriend's up, but that was the only problem with the stairs - luggage. Unless you're old and frail or severely overweight, they shouldn't be a problem for you.

When we got to the top, Rudy greated us with a smile. He also gave us a map and some tips about Amsterdam, particularly the past time it's most renowned for. His warm welcome really set the tone for our two night stay.

The room was small, but big enough for what we needed. There was a sink in the room and the showers and toilet were in the hallway. Towels are provided and the room is cleaned daily. I'd advise just taking a towel and soap to the shower, because you can't fit much in there. I'm not sure if we were the only ones staying there, but we didn't see any other guests at all during our stay.

The Wi-Fi worked great in the room. Despite how basic it was, we were surprised how cheap our stay was given the hotel's central location. We had mates who were staying in a shared dorm room at the same time and had to pay more than we did.

I want to go back to Amsterdam and I know where I'll be staying - Hotel Aspen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really nice place for the price, very clean and quiet. Other than the REALLY steep stairs (can be a little challenging after a night out in Amsterdam), this place is perfect. Good walking distance to most Amsterdam attractions, and also really close to the lovely Jordaan neighborhood.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Flabby buttocks? Stay here for a few days and you'll soon firm up nicely! Seriously, the door buzzed open and we were greeted with the longest, steepest flight of stairs we've ever seen - go up and down them a few times daily and you'll feel the benefit for sure.

So, we arrived at 10am, well before check-in time and we hoped we'd be able to dump our bags somewhere. The owner went one better than that, our room was available so he let us take it. He was good enough to take the trouble to show us where all the places of interest were on a map. It was REALLY very strange hearing him talking very openly about where one can go to smoke pot, I kept looking around anxiously in case we were being overheard - everyone is so uptight about it in the UK!

Was given room 7 a twin/double with goodsized and spotlessly clean en suite. Lovely fresh linen and towels. For those of us who like watching people scurrying around on the street it is fine, but if you want peace and quiet this room is not for you as the trams and traffic noises are present along with the odd police siren (it is central Amsterdam). The other advantage of being up in the eves is that you have another two flights of butt firming stairs to mount! Have to say I don't think I've ever slept in such a narrow bed, even as a child, and it was pure luck I never fell out. It was cold outside so the central heating in the room and separate radiator in the bathroom was very welcome indeed. Small things I like to see which give the feeling the hotel is safe - electricity is earthed to the water supply.

What would I improve? There is no TV so no snippet of news (and none of the nagging for watching it), no kettle and mugs so can't have that all-important first cup of the day. As others have said - you get what you pay for and for what we paid this ticked all the important boxes - and saved us temporary gymn membership too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.