We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for budget travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Aspen
Save
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location for budget travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in December, 2013. We'd read reviews of how basic the rooms were and how steep the stairs were. This is all true. When we were buzzed in, I burst out laughing when I saw how steep the steps were. Apparently steep steps are common in Amsterdam though. I took my case up the stairs then went back down to take my girlfriend's up, but that was the only problem with the stairs - luggage. Unless you're old and frail or severely overweight, they shouldn't be a problem for you.

When we got to the top, Rudy greated us with a smile. He also gave us a map and some tips about Amsterdam, particularly the past time it's most renowned for. His warm welcome really set the tone for our two night stay.

The room was small, but big enough for what we needed. There was a sink in the room and the showers and toilet were in the hallway. Towels are provided and the room is cleaned daily. I'd advise just taking a towel and soap to the shower, because you can't fit much in there. I'm not sure if we were the only ones staying there, but we didn't see any other guests at all during our stay.

The Wi-Fi worked great in the room. Despite how basic it was, we were surprised how cheap our stay was given the hotel's central location. We had mates who were staying in a shared dorm room at the same time and had to pay more than we did.

I want to go back to Amsterdam and I know where I'll be staying - Hotel Aspen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    100
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
18
84
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really nice place for the price, very clean and quiet. Other than the REALLY steep stairs (can be a little challenging after a night out in Amsterdam), this place is perfect. Good walking distance to most Amsterdam attractions, and also really close to the lovely Jordaan neighborhood.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Flabby buttocks? Stay here for a few days and you'll soon firm up nicely! Seriously, the door buzzed open and we were greeted with the longest, steepest flight of stairs we've ever seen - go up and down them a few times daily and you'll feel the benefit for sure.

So, we arrived at 10am, well before check-in time and we hoped we'd be able to dump our bags somewhere. The owner went one better than that, our room was available so he let us take it. He was good enough to take the trouble to show us where all the places of interest were on a map. It was REALLY very strange hearing him talking very openly about where one can go to smoke pot, I kept looking around anxiously in case we were being overheard - everyone is so uptight about it in the UK!

Was given room 7 a twin/double with goodsized and spotlessly clean en suite. Lovely fresh linen and towels. For those of us who like watching people scurrying around on the street it is fine, but if you want peace and quiet this room is not for you as the trams and traffic noises are present along with the odd police siren (it is central Amsterdam). The other advantage of being up in the eves is that you have another two flights of butt firming stairs to mount! Have to say I don't think I've ever slept in such a narrow bed, even as a child, and it was pure luck I never fell out. It was cold outside so the central heating in the room and separate radiator in the bathroom was very welcome indeed. Small things I like to see which give the feeling the hotel is safe - electricity is earthed to the water supply.

What would I improve? There is no TV so no snippet of news (and none of the nagging for watching it), no kettle and mugs so can't have that all-important first cup of the day. As others have said - you get what you pay for and for what we paid this ticked all the important boxes - and saved us temporary gymn membership too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A clean warm base in a convenient location, friendly owner. You get what you pay for and this hotel rates well against others in this price range. Free WiFi, clean towels daily supermarket just up the road, coffee available €1.50. Unfortunately the stairs (60+)were just what we didn't need after a day out, and deadly after a couple of drinks. No smoking hotel not that many smokers would survive the climb.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. My daughters and I stayed here a couple of years ago and this time with my husband. On both occasions we booked a room with private bathroom. The steep staircase is a nightmare to traverse, particularly on the way down with luggage but its all part of the charm. The hotel is basic but spotlessly clean and fresh and in a great location. The owners were friendly but unobtrusive and helped us upstairs with our luggage. Great value for money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good if you don't need much space and are just staying for 1-2 nights. There was not much water in the shower, no sink in the bathroom (but in the bedroom) and the stairs are steep but the owners are exceptionally friendly and its close to Anne Frank museum and the red District.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 nights for 3 adult family members. It was easy to find and very handy location for all parts of Amsterdam, we had a triple room with private bathroom. For the price we paid we were really happy with the cleanliness of the hotel, bedding and towels changed daily, room cleaned and hoovered daily, for the price you pay you really can't get any cleaner than Hotel Aspen, there are no televisions or coffee making facilities in the rooms but you can purchase a coffee or cold drinks from the owner who is a lovely gentleman, he is very helpful at pointing out the attractions and what to avoid, we had an early morning flight home and he brought us coffee up to the room at 6.30am, very happy stay :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#100 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,342 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#27 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.