We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind the stairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mind the stairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. My daughters and I stayed here a couple of years ago and this time with my husband. On both occasions we booked a room with private bathroom. The steep staircase is a nightmare to traverse, particularly on the way down with luggage but its all part of the charm. The hotel is basic but spotlessly clean and fresh and in a great location. The owners were friendly but unobtrusive and helped us upstairs with our luggage. Great value for money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    98
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
82
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good if you don't need much space and are just staying for 1-2 nights. There was not much water in the shower, no sink in the bathroom (but in the bedroom) and the stairs are steep but the owners are exceptionally friendly and its close to Anne Frank museum and the red District.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 nights for 3 adult family members. It was easy to find and very handy location for all parts of Amsterdam, we had a triple room with private bathroom. For the price we paid we were really happy with the cleanliness of the hotel, bedding and towels changed daily, room cleaned and hoovered daily, for the price you pay you really can't get any cleaner than Hotel Aspen, there are no televisions or coffee making facilities in the rooms but you can purchase a coffee or cold drinks from the owner who is a lovely gentleman, he is very helpful at pointing out the attractions and what to avoid, we had an early morning flight home and he brought us coffee up to the room at 6.30am, very happy stay :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A characterful hotel among the traditional buildings of central Amsterdam and within 10 mins walk of the railway station. Bars, restaurants and visitor attractions within a few minutes walk. Room was clean, comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This little hotel was the perfect choice for our 36 hour layover in Amsterdam. It was very clean and the owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The price is great too (we actually spent more on the taxi from the airport than we did on this room! Fortunately, the owner informed us of the shuttle service and booked it for our return to the airport--lesson learned!) Our room did not have a private bathroom, but we were pleased to find the shared bathrooms to be immaculate.

Be warned, however, that the stairs are STEEP! It was awfully hard for us to drag our very large suitcases up to the 3rd floor. We managed, but this might be a negative for seniors or handicapped individuals. Overall, very pleased and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARGYLL SCOTLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amsterdam is a great city to spend some time in and you will want to be out and about enjoying every minute of it. If you are looking for somewhere central that is basic and clean, this hotel is ideal. We were there for 3 nights and the bed and towels were changed every day. As all the other reviews say, the stairs are steep but its only hard when you are carrying your suitcase up. Our room was at the back so no traffic noise at all just the bells from the clock! Short stroll to Dam square and lots of pubs restaurants and coffee shops

Room Tip: A room at the back will not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

most of the previous reviews nail it- steep steps beware, basic rooms with no frills, great location, clean & comfortable.

Esam is a great manager, beyond friendly and accommodating. I was traveling alone but hopped around room to room during my stay and he worked with me to those adjustments.

highly suggest booking a good amount of time in advance- found this to be true with most hotels in Amsterdam.

all rooms I stayed in were very clean and the beds very comfortable. the only thing I wish this hotel had we're TVs in the room.

would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.