We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Batesville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great service, great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This little hotel was the perfect choice for our 36 hour layover in Amsterdam. It was very clean and the owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The price is great too (we actually spent more on the taxi from the airport than we did on this room! Fortunately, the owner informed us of the shuttle service and booked it for our return to the airport--lesson learned!) Our room did not have a private bathroom, but we were pleased to find the shared bathrooms to be immaculate.

Be warned, however, that the stairs are STEEP! It was awfully hard for us to drag our very large suitcases up to the 3rd floor. We managed, but this might be a negative for seniors or handicapped individuals. Overall, very pleased and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
81
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ARGYLL SCOTLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amsterdam is a great city to spend some time in and you will want to be out and about enjoying every minute of it. If you are looking for somewhere central that is basic and clean, this hotel is ideal. We were there for 3 nights and the bed and towels were changed every day. As all the other reviews say, the stairs are steep but its only hard when you are carrying your suitcase up. Our room was at the back so no traffic noise at all just the bells from the clock! Short stroll to Dam square and lots of pubs restaurants and coffee shops

Room Tip: A room at the back will not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

most of the previous reviews nail it- steep steps beware, basic rooms with no frills, great location, clean & comfortable.

Esam is a great manager, beyond friendly and accommodating. I was traveling alone but hopped around room to room during my stay and he worked with me to those adjustments.

highly suggest booking a good amount of time in advance- found this to be true with most hotels in Amsterdam.

all rooms I stayed in were very clean and the beds very comfortable. the only thing I wish this hotel had we're TVs in the room.

would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Let me start my review by saying you get what you pay for if you want luxury don't stay here, but if you want clean cheap comfortable place to stay this is IDEAL. The hotel has 56 very steep steps so wouldn't suit elderly or anyone with climbing difficulty. When we arrived we where greeted by Esam the owner a very lovely man, very helpful told us everything we needed to know and marked the map of all the places we mite like to visit. Overall we had a great stay and location was perfect for getting to everywhere. Love Amsterdam it's a beautiful place but very very expensive when you get here so be aware.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our time here. It was quiet and comfortable and the location is excellent. It wasn't something amazing, but for the price, if you're on a budget, it's worth it. The complaint that makes it cheaper is simply the steep, narrow staircase, but the owners are happy to help you with getting your bags up the stairs and they are very friendly people. Would stay here again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Even though we were there during an unusually hot period, our third floor room was very comfortable without air conditioning. Very clean and roomy. We had the front room with the two twin beds. The stairs might be a bit of a challenge for some. Lots of activity on the street, but it did not carry on into the night as expected. Great location! Great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a nice hotel. The best part was the location. We stayed in July and it was very hot and there is no air conditioning. This hotel would have a better rating if they invested in ceiling fans. Very Clean. Nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly. Very safe! 1 minute walk to the Anne Frank House. 3 minute walk to Dam Square. We arrived late in the evening and the staff was very kind and waited up for us to let us in. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building. It is much quieter and pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.