We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Aspen is perfectly situated in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel Aspen is perfectly situated in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a nice hotel. The best part was the location. We stayed in July and it was very hot and there is no air conditioning. This hotel would have a better rating if they invested in ceiling fans. Very Clean. Nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly. Very safe! 1 minute walk to the Anne Frank House. 3 minute walk to Dam Square. We arrived late in the evening and the staff was very kind and waited up for us to let us in. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building. It is much quieter and pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    98
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
82
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a no-frills budget hotel, run by very nice people who strive to make you feel at home. The room was clean and spacious, with a big bathroom and windows overlooking the palace. There is no elevator and the steps were a bit steep and narrow, but expect this at most hotels in Amsterdam, and don't hold it against Hotel Aspen. That's just the way things are in Amsterdam. The beds were comfy and the room was very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful, and held our bags after we checked out, so we could wander around unencumbered until we caught our overnight train. The hotel is very close to a tram stop, which is then about a 10 minute ride to the central train station.

The only thing I didn't like about Hotel Aspen is the 10am checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed one night.
Room is old but clean.

Very friendly and helpful owner who helped with our heavy luggage up the 'infamous' steep and narrow stairway.

Hotel is located near the Dams square and within walking distance from the city's attractions.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Definitely not the hotel you want to have expectations about. You share a single toilet and shower with the entire floor. The rooms are very small and you need to hike up a thousand tiny stairs to get to your room. To be honest, it was clean, and not as bad as we make it seem. The hotel receptionist was incredible, he went above and beyond to help us in any questions we had about Amsterdam. He made our stay wonderful even if we did hate our room. Its good and inexpensive if you are just passing by Amsterdam, I would not recommend it for families or couples. Mainly for backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are looking for an excellent, clean budget hotel, then Hotel Aspen is for you. We look for good reviews on a very basic hotel in a good location and save our money for the sights. Yes, the steps are very steep so if you have mobility issues it might not be for you. However, Esam and his wife and their assistant are wonderful and are there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We were on a seven weeks stay in Europe. Three of the weeks was to be in a motorhome, so we had one large suitcase with items for it. Esam's wife helped us get it up the steep stairs, and Esam had his assistant get it down the stairs when we left. Plus, it was fine with him for us to store it in his office/sleeping area. We stayed from April 19th - April 25th and couldn't have had better hosts.

We asked for a room on the first level and was very pleased. There were four rooms on our floor, two of which had their own bathroom. Therefore, we only shared the shower area and toilet area with one other room. They were always spotlessly clean, and we never had to wait for them. The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water.

Our wifi worked really well, and we even skyped with family from home which was great. Our room had a closet with hangers and a sink which had a shelf above it. Small cakes of soap was provided, but you will need to bring your own shampoo which was no problem for us because we always bring our preferred ones. ...and hey, Aspen saves you money, so bring your own shampoo. The sink was very handy, so we could brush our teeth and wash our hands and face in the room. We had taken a small hotpot and could make coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the room.

Our bed was comfortable and we always got a good night's sleep. My husband has a bi-pap machine and had no problem plugging it in. One hint is to ask for a room in the back, where it is so quiet. The front rooms have a great view, but there is road noise. For me, one plus is you are very close to Westerkerk Church. When we got there, I heard the lovely chimes and bells and wondered if it could be the ones Anne Frank listened to while she was in hiding. On the day we were scheduled to go to her house, I was very touched to find that we were only five minutes from it, and yes it was the Westerkerk! I hated to leave knowing that I wouldn't be hearing the chimes and bells again. Each time, I listened to them I got chills knowing where they were coming from. It was cold at night, and our room was always warm. The maid made our bed and left clean towels each day. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Esam even exchanged our money to Euros. How much more accommodating can a host be? He also explained how to find the Monday Market and even looked for us there while he shopped. While I am mentioning it, my favorite souvenir of the trip was a large antique plate I bought there. It has a special place of honor hanging in our home.

There is a grocery store and bus about five minutes away. It took us about twenty-five to thirty minutes to walk to Centraal Station, but you can take the tram I believe. We just enjoyed the canals, houses, and cobblestones as we gawked about so the time went quickly.

There is a bike rental shop next door.

Amsterdam has a lot of enjoyable sights to visit along with wonderful English speaking people, and we feel that Hotel Aspen is the perfect hotel for us since we travel on a budget. Esam, who is very friendly and helpful, does a wonderful job managing a home base for people who don't have a lot of money to spend but want to travel. We will go back and will recommend the hotel to our friends. Thanks to all the TAs who recommended it to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, if you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with two friends and it was great. On arrival, the owner welcomed us and gave us a map of the city and pointed out major landmarks and attractions and even told us places we should avoid at night, a great help to 3 young girls! The room and bathroom was immaculate and their was more than enough space, we could have done with darker curtains though. The location was perfect, far enough out that it wasn't noisy yet only a 5 minute walk to Dam Square, and with a large supermarket a 2 minute walk away and a bike rental who offer deals to those staying at the hotel right next to the hotel entrance. The owner also let us leave our case during the day we left as our flight was at 9.40pm. They also offered free wifi which was very accessible and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a great price and we received great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Hotel is very well located, easy to find with the normal Map that you get on Central Station. Clean. attention of the owner is very nice. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor; had to go up maybe 80-ea steps. Although the steps are a challenge, it is sort of the attraction of the hotel..... You have a bike rental just next door, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.