We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Summersville, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are looking for an excellent, clean budget hotel, then Hotel Aspen is for you. We look for good reviews on a very basic hotel in a good location and save our money for the sights. Yes, the steps are very steep so if you have mobility issues it might not be for you. However, Esam and his wife and their assistant are wonderful and are there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We were on a seven weeks stay in Europe. Three of the weeks was to be in a motorhome, so we had one large suitcase with items for it. Esam's wife helped us get it up the steep stairs, and Esam had his assistant get it down the stairs when we left. Plus, it was fine with him for us to store it in his office/sleeping area. We stayed from April 19th - April 25th and couldn't have had better hosts.

We asked for a room on the first level and was very pleased. There were four rooms on our floor, two of which had their own bathroom. Therefore, we only shared the shower area and toilet area with one other room. They were always spotlessly clean, and we never had to wait for them. The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water.

Our wifi worked really well, and we even skyped with family from home which was great. Our room had a closet with hangers and a sink which had a shelf above it. Small cakes of soap was provided, but you will need to bring your own shampoo which was no problem for us because we always bring our preferred ones. ...and hey, Aspen saves you money, so bring your own shampoo. The sink was very handy, so we could brush our teeth and wash our hands and face in the room. We had taken a small hotpot and could make coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the room.

Our bed was comfortable and we always got a good night's sleep. My husband has a bi-pap machine and had no problem plugging it in. One hint is to ask for a room in the back, where it is so quiet. The front rooms have a great view, but there is road noise. For me, one plus is you are very close to Westerkerk Church. When we got there, I heard the lovely chimes and bells and wondered if it could be the ones Anne Frank listened to while she was in hiding. On the day we were scheduled to go to her house, I was very touched to find that we were only five minutes from it, and yes it was the Westerkerk! I hated to leave knowing that I wouldn't be hearing the chimes and bells again. Each time, I listened to them I got chills knowing where they were coming from. It was cold at night, and our room was always warm. The maid made our bed and left clean towels each day. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Esam even exchanged our money to Euros. How much more accommodating can a host be? He also explained how to find the Monday Market and even looked for us there while he shopped. While I am mentioning it, my favorite souvenir of the trip was a large antique plate I bought there. It has a special place of honor hanging in our home.

There is a grocery store and bus about five minutes away. It took us about twenty-five to thirty minutes to walk to Centraal Station, but you can take the tram I believe. We just enjoyed the canals, houses, and cobblestones as we gawked about so the time went quickly.

There is a bike rental shop next door.

Amsterdam has a lot of enjoyable sights to visit along with wonderful English speaking people, and we feel that Hotel Aspen is the perfect hotel for us since we travel on a budget. Esam, who is very friendly and helpful, does a wonderful job managing a home base for people who don't have a lot of money to spend but want to travel. We will go back and will recommend the hotel to our friends. Thanks to all the TAs who recommended it to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, if you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    94
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
77
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with two friends and it was great. On arrival, the owner welcomed us and gave us a map of the city and pointed out major landmarks and attractions and even told us places we should avoid at night, a great help to 3 young girls! The room and bathroom was immaculate and their was more than enough space, we could have done with darker curtains though. The location was perfect, far enough out that it wasn't noisy yet only a 5 minute walk to Dam Square, and with a large supermarket a 2 minute walk away and a bike rental who offer deals to those staying at the hotel right next to the hotel entrance. The owner also let us leave our case during the day we left as our flight was at 9.40pm. They also offered free wifi which was very accessible and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a great price and we received great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Hotel is very well located, easy to find with the normal Map that you get on Central Station. Clean. attention of the owner is very nice. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor; had to go up maybe 80-ea steps. Although the steps are a challenge, it is sort of the attraction of the hotel..... You have a bike rental just next door, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

OK so the stairs at steep but this is Amsterdam.....no problem. My room was the budget single room on the top floor and yes, it was very small. The bed was big enough for me (I'm 5'9") and the wifi works throughout the hotel. The worst thing was the shower room, external to the bedroom. It is very awkward to actually undress in the room so it's far easier to walk to the shower covering with a towel. Obviously this isn't convenient for many people. The pressure from the shower is also non existent and no toiletries are provided either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a wonderful small hotel! We enjoyed our stay very much. This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. Very clean, great hostpitality, and a hot shower. We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we had booked more! This little B&B was centrally located and very easy to find. We had very large luggage due to the fact that we were going to be in Europe for a month and the stairs were super steep. If you plan on staying at this little hotel large luggage is not advised! It is do able, but very difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

3 girlfriends and I stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of may for a great price. The room was cozy and had all the basics- hangers, towels, soap. We brought our own towels and used the hotel's as bath mats. We stayed in a lot most night just because it was so cozy and quiet. Esam was a great receptionist and helped us a lot. The location is great. I would definitely recommend staying and would definitely come back. The stairs are definitely a workout so don't come with big luggage!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location was excellent and close to Dam Square. The tramway was easily accessible as well as the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very basic and quite disappointing considering the price we paid. I guess we paid for the location. Amsterdam is a very interesting city to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.