We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with two friends and it was great. On arrival, the owner welcomed us and gave us a map of the city and pointed out major landmarks and attractions and even told us places we should avoid at night, a great help to 3 young girls! The room and bathroom was immaculate and their was more than enough space, we could have done with darker curtains though. The location was perfect, far enough out that it wasn't noisy yet only a 5 minute walk to Dam Square, and with a large supermarket a 2 minute walk away and a bike rental who offer deals to those staying at the hotel right next to the hotel entrance. The owner also let us leave our case during the day we left as our flight was at 9.40pm. They also offered free wifi which was very accessible and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a great price and we received great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    98
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
82
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Hotel is very well located, easy to find with the normal Map that you get on Central Station. Clean. attention of the owner is very nice. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor; had to go up maybe 80-ea steps. Although the steps are a challenge, it is sort of the attraction of the hotel..... You have a bike rental just next door, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

OK so the stairs at steep but this is Amsterdam.....no problem. My room was the budget single room on the top floor and yes, it was very small. The bed was big enough for me (I'm 5'9") and the wifi works throughout the hotel. The worst thing was the shower room, external to the bedroom. It is very awkward to actually undress in the room so it's far easier to walk to the shower covering with a towel. Obviously this isn't convenient for many people. The pressure from the shower is also non existent and no toiletries are provided either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a wonderful small hotel! We enjoyed our stay very much. This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. Very clean, great hostpitality, and a hot shower. We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we had booked more! This little B&B was centrally located and very easy to find. We had very large luggage due to the fact that we were going to be in Europe for a month and the stairs were super steep. If you plan on staying at this little hotel large luggage is not advised! It is do able, but very difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

3 girlfriends and I stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of may for a great price. The room was cozy and had all the basics- hangers, towels, soap. We brought our own towels and used the hotel's as bath mats. We stayed in a lot most night just because it was so cozy and quiet. Esam was a great receptionist and helped us a lot. The location is great. I would definitely recommend staying and would definitely come back. The stairs are definitely a workout so don't come with big luggage!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location was excellent and close to Dam Square. The tramway was easily accessible as well as the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very basic and quite disappointing considering the price we paid. I guess we paid for the location. Amsterdam is a very interesting city to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked a room for 3 people. We were located way up on the third floor, so the climb up the narrow stairs was a challenge, but it also made for some jokes and laughs. It was really all just part of the adventure! We had clean, white bedding, three small beds for three people, and our own private bath which was small and without counter space. I have seen smaller bathrooms, so it wasn't terrible, but overall, it was suitable and clean.

The proprietor Rudy was a very pleasant man whose jovial demeanor made us very relaxed. I liked that we could pay with our Visa card directly to him when we arrived. It was a little odd to pay for the hotel before our stay, but I did not mind. Rudy helped us carry luggage up the stairs when we arrived, and down the stairs when we checked out. Very nice! Everything was clean, not luxurious, but for what we paid (220 euros), I think it was a good value. Anne Frank's house was just a five minute walk. There also was a hop-on-hop-off office five minute walk away with the stop right there. In the other direction we could easily walk to Dam Square, the Rembrandt Exhibit, the Red Light district, and even Central Station. The outside of the hotel is among shops and has a great Amsterdam look to it, as you can see in the photograph. Overall we were very happy. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I highly recommend Hotel Aspen.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and narrow, so ask for a lower room if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.