We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aspen
Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent budget hotel very very clean and friendly staff... Our flight from Glasgow was delayed and we did not arrive until 3am ... We phoned to advise hotel of this and were delighted with their response... Arrived ... Got keys and had a comfy nights rest ... First class service would recommend this hotel and will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
78
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Aspen is a gem. There are other hotels on this stretch of a convenient, major street, but the others all receive poor reviews. Aspen is clean, convenient (in location, not in the steep stairs that are common to all such hotels), and has a terrific manager in Rudy. He is cheerfully willing to research for information needed to see the city and the specific places that are not necessarily on tourist maps. We have stayed at the Aspen twice, and would go there again when we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have a great view, but have the street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is about 10-15min walk from Centraal station. The room was very clean as was the shared toilet and shower. With the window closed the room was very quiet. As with most hotels in Amsterdam the stairs are steep so it's best not to be loaded down with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall we had a great stay at Aspen Hotel. The location is ideal for exploring Amsterdam. It is located in the heart of the 'central' part of Amsterdam, and very importantly, within comfortable walking distance from the central train station. The owner of the hotel is a friendly and approachable man. We were allocated a 'double' room (two single beds put together) in the top floor. However this room overlooks the main road, and as such we were kept awake by traffic noise. Windows are single glazed so I can just imagine in addition to the traffic noise, during the winter it must be very cold. Some people have commented on the steep stairs. All buildings within the historic central part of Amsterdam have very steep stairs. If you want to be in the central then this is something you will have to accept. The room and en-suite bathroom are both very clean. They are very basic but you pay for what you get. We researched very carefully before we made our booking. Overall hotels/guesthouses in central amsterdam are not cheap. In the grand scheme of things, Aspen Hotel represents a really good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

people have moaned about the stairs but this is amsterdam i have stayed all over the city and stairs are steep its the nature of the way the houses were built i stayed for 3 nights with 4 friends in a quad room with en suite room was spacious very clean and very comfy beds we paid 100 euros each for 3 nights which was very very good value the location was great and the owners were excellent could not do enough for us we will be back please note none of the rooms include breakfast which for us was ok as it meant we could get up at our leisure and enjoy a nice brunch

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

€30 per night per person, you dont expect the ritz but the place was spotless and you couldn't be any closer to the centre unless you pitched a tent in Dam Square. Rudy, the guy that owns the hotel was very nice and helpful. just remember to turn the light off in the toilet when your done. we shared a toilet but honestly, they were immaculate. as was the shower (also shared) the only problem with the shower was you had to be literally inside the shower to get undressed, no big deal really! the stairs are STEEP, setting base camp half way began to look like an option at one point. the rooms again were spotless and very basic. the bed nice and cosy and I loved that there were two single duvets on the bed, it ment no tug of war mid sleep :D there is no food in the hotel but there are so many nice places to eat so close by, it didnt matter and literally 3 mins up the road was a supermarket. we left our bags with Rudy all day after we chcked out as our trian didnt leave until that night, no problem.

its cheap, its cheerful, its spotless and less than 1 mins walk from all the action. its perfect really

Room Tip: go for a room out the back, your away off the road, its nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.