We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the experience of staying on a boat in Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the experience of staying on a boat in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We definetely enjoyed looking out our window onto the water and seeing a Russian Sub from our room. The rooms are tiny but you have to remember, you're staying on a boat! We would have done it again for the novelty but if we visit again we will stay somewhere that doesn't require taking a ferry everytime you want to get over to the mainland area. The ferry's run about every 30 minutes but after midnight you have to take a ferry to a different spot and the hotel shuttle comes to pick you up from there (you just call them when you get there). It wasn't a big deal just a bit of a time inconvenience. The breakfast bar here was good and always full. The front desk even made a point to bring us coffee the morning we left and were waiting for the shuttle!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    304
    249
    82
    56
See reviews for
72
345
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My partner and I stayed in this hotel on our first holiday together. He left me to decide where to stay, and when I saw the Amstel Botel the novelty quickly attracted me to it, so I booked the hotel through lowcostholidays.com at great value.

There is a free ferry from outside Amsterdam Centraal Station to the pier on which the Botel is docked. These run like clockwork every half an hour.

The Botel itself is clean and well presented (apart from the occasional worn sofa). A breakfast room, bar and lounge is available but we didn't really use these facilities so I can't comment. The rooms are small, but in my opinion, you only use the room for sleeping. They provide tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a TV. The bathrooms are small, but the showers are powerful. The walls are thinner than one would like, but not a big issue as our neighbors were quiet.

As for the experience of staying on a boat, I loved it, my partner not so much. The only downside is that after a decent nights sleep, descending on dry land is a strange experience. It feels as if you're still on the boat and you mentally think you're rocking back and forth.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We paid very little to stay here having got a good deal through Easyjet so we expected the hotel to be basic. It is basic. The rooms are quite small (bathrooms are tiny) and very simply furnished but the place is spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and all seem to speak perfect English (as do most people we met in Amsterdam).
The breakfast is a continental style buffet and is a rather more limited selection than we have seen elsewhere, but what was there was good. I could see that there would be a real problem if you were veggie however as there appeared to only be yoghurt, rolls or toast available for strict veggies.
The botel is currently north of the city centre at NDSM werf, a 10 minute ferry ride (free) across the IJ from the back of Centraal station. The ferries run every 15 to 30 minutes depending on the time of day. We thoroughly enjoyed the ferry journey each time actually as for us brits it's pretty novel and some of the views, particularly at sunset are quite amazing. The area the botel is in is quiet and we never heard any noise from other guests either and so had a pretty good sleep.
The hotel rooms have TVs and you can get some of the BBC channels (BBC1 BBC3 and BBC news) but if you're spending muchof your time in the hotel watching TV whilst in Amsterdam you are probably doing something very wrong!
Overall it is very basic but at the price it is excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is not your normal run of the mill 3 star hotel,
Yes it is a boat
so it rocks a little, and you have a view of a wharf or a submarine and yes it is a little bit on the small side,
but come on people is a boat hotel,
its an easy 2 min walk to a free ferry to the city and after hours they put on a shuttle,
The rooms despite there size had all we need,
I mean come on who goes to amsterdam to spend all there time in there room?
The room was fine, Clean and tidy
The bed was large (or maybe the room was small so it just felt large) and not uncomfortable
The shower had good preasure and was clean and tidy
Breakfast was great with a selection of cold meats plus all the normal stuff, bacon eggs,toast etc
Overall, uniquely worth it

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I was very impressed by how accommodating the hotel staff were! When I booked the hotel via the travel agents there were no double rooms available (our stay coincided with a dutch holiday) so I booked a twin room (booked it as a birthday present for my boyfriend and knew he would love staying in a botel). I then emailed the hotel and asked if it would be possible to actually stay in a double room and if possible have a room with a view of the water. When we arrived we found that we were staying in a double room with a water view - I was very impressed! Yes the room and bathroom are small but for the price you cant really complain and you also have the novelty of the hotel being on a boat. Breakfast was good and there was a nice spread of things to choose from. The ferry to the centre of Amsterdam was frequent and timetables were available from reception so you didnt really have to hang around waiting for it. A good budget hotel!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

we stayed here as part of a group tour. its basic and comfortable, small rooms as expected on a 'boat' hotel, tiny bathroom. but clean. breakfast was decent continental. not much to do around the location, u take a 30min ferry to city centre but ferries run frequently. staff, esp the asian lady was absolutely arrogant and terrible, would not stay at this hotel cos of her. when we got to the room, the soap dispenser in bathroom was not working, so i called reception and she came, said it was working. insisted, i said try it yrself, she did. it didnt work, then she said the nozzle was blocked and they ddint have any new one and left, no apology or resolution, fine, i can do with that. next day me and my partner came back to hotel earlier, so rooms hadnt been cleaned till then. the cleaning lady asked us if we wanted our rooms to be cleaned, we said is it possible to do it later, she said yes, so we agreed, later. then later in evening we went to reception desk and inquired abt cleaning staff, the arrogant lady said they have gone for the day. fine, i asked her since we didnt have our room cleaned, could we have some clean towels sent to the room. she said she will, we went out, came back no towels. this time when i went down to reception, there was a friendly man behind the counter, who was extremely nice and helpful, I requested couple of clean towels and he sent an entire set of like 4 bath toweks and 2 hand towels to our room immediately. so all in all, would not stay here cos of the arrogant staff memeber

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

rooms basic but clean and modern...once we found ferry and got use to routine it really was 10mins from botel to dam square ...... staff were really lovely and very helpful.... breakfast served till 10.30 which was brilliant bread rolls ham cheese yoghurt cereal and even BACON SAUSAGE n eggs...... great stay all in all xx

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.