We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully a balanced review of this unusual Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hopefully a balanced review of this unusual Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Amstel Boatel website uses the word Luxurious to describe the accommodation. Luxurious IT IS NOT! This is a Budget Hotel in every sense of the word. Firstly the Bad News.
The rooms are compact and the bathrooms are small to the point of tiny. The furnishings are minimal and the carpet is thin. The glasses are thin plastic ones and there is no tea/coffee making in the room. Our particular room had a shower with a broken fitting meaning that we had to hold the shower head with one hand while showering with the other! There was no plug in the sink and no bathroom fan so the place got very steamy at times.
Now for the Good bits.
The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. The rooms are warm and the TV picture is good and has BBC2 and BBC world service programmes available. The breakfasts are adequate and the breakfast area is pleasant. The location is unusual and industrial but we found it interesting and not offputting. It was only a 5 minute walk from the free ferry that took you to the rear of the central station, which in turn was only a 10 minute ride. The ferry ran every 30 mins and was more frequent during the morning and evening rush hours.
All in all as a lower price budget Hotel it is fit for the job, but please do not set your expectations by reading the brochure or web site, or you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Rooms were very small but ok for overnight stay. Breakfast Buffet was very nicely stocked. Noises from an adjoining room were rather distracting during the night.

Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We are back today after 3 nights, the hotel is clean and friendly, having to take the boat into the city centre was not convienent, we missed it by minutes a few times and it was so cold waiting for the next boat. The restaurant beside the hotel is fantastic, we had a beautiful meal last night

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dualta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I actually signed up on this page today because I feel the latter reviews are unfair - or at least not representative for our stay (which was 3 nights over new year's). No, this is not luxury - however it's solid and the staff was very friendly to us. The location worried me a little but if you do your homework eg. watch the video on the hotel website) beforehand, it's very simple. We actually came to appreciate the short boat trip to the central station when going into town. Only slightly annoying thing is if you just miss a boat (they go every 30th minute most of the day).

I think a telling thing about the service of this place is that when we checked out we were asked whether we planned to take the boat, because it was not sailing (We never found out why). But in 5 minutes we had a free shuttle taxi to another boat (much closer to the central station - it's the one you are supposed to also take at nights). All this was explained carefully to us at check in. It's dead simple - and the boat is right next to the botel.

Oh, and if you stay at the botel do drop in at the eating place next to it http://www.ijkantine.nl/index.php. We had dinner there the last night. It was great. At night it's like a restaurant with a splendid view. At day, however, it seemed there was a lot of noise and a lot of children... There really is little else than the botel and the kantine in the area, but I am not sure you need more. We did not. Amsterdam Central is just 10 minutes away. Having said that it seems that the NSDM-area is an uncoming one - as far as I understand there is also a metro line coming.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medium_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was surprised at how comfortable and enjoyable my stay was. A Beautiful Botel with good facilities and extremely helpful staff. Special thanks to Joseph

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

There are many reasons why this hotel was not the best.
1. Lack of directions to get there. Out of the central station, there are about 4 ferries, one of which takes you to the Botel. None were marked with the name of the hotel to help us tourists and we weren't told when we booked. We had to call to ask, while on the pier.
2. It's quite far from the centre. Takes half an hour on the ferry.
3. You would really need to love the swaying. I didn't think I'd mind since I don't get seasick, but it got on the nerves (since travelling also includes a ferry ride...) and we were only there for 3 nights.
4. The food! The one time we were forced to eat there was when we first arrived and were starved to death. The burgers we had from the bar were dry and obviously microwaved or something. However the free breakfast was nice and had a wide selection.
5. Bathroom was pokey.
6. We weren't told when our room would be ready before we turned up. When we got there we were told we'd have to wait 2 hours.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tigrisdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Having booked the Botel on the assumption that it was in it's old location, and based on older reviews, we were a little bit anxious to find it had moved and that more recent guests had been less than complimentary about it!

The rooms are quite dated and shabby, but we found our room to be really clean- with the bedding and towels changed daily. The bed itself was really comfy, and though the bathroom was "compact", the shower was nice and powerful. The walls are thin, but we didn't get woken at all by other guests- and the Botel's location makes it quite peaceful at night. Plenty of English speaking TV channels should you want them, and VERY adult entertainment on Channel 50!

The breakfast was perfectly adequate- usual continental type fayre plus bacon, sausages, boiled eggs etc. The bar serves drinks and light snacks, and there are also vending machines selling drinks and snacks just above reception. The staff were helpful, and there's a room for storing your luggage- should you arrive earlier than check-in or are flying out later than check out time.

You now have to get a ferry over to the Botel (really easy to find at the back entrance of Central Station, last landing dock on the left as you walk out), the service is regular (every half hour I think), and takes only ten minutes. If you miss the last boat, you can take the night ferry over the river and a shuttle-bus picks you up for the Botel- we did this twice and the despite reservations, the shuttlebus was there both times! The ferry can either be a right pain or an enjoyable part of your break- depending on your perspective. We didn't really see it as a problem.

If you're after luxury, this isn't the accomodation for you, but if you want somewhere cheap and clean- even if it may have seen better days-then don't be put off.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittylitterbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#214 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#197 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing