We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amstel Botel - Its Different !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“Amstel Botel - Its Different !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Just got back from a 1 night stay on the Amstel Botel . my 4th stay over an 8 year period .
i stay here when i have an early flight back to the uk ...

Its different !

Looks like a boat , designed like a boat , rooms like cabins on a ferry , small , functional and clean .

ok its dos'nt float like a boat but it looks the part .

You cannot beat the botels central position .
2 minute walk from central station , the red light district , the damrak etc .
bus and trams on your doorstep .

its not a cheap stay anymore £70 for a twin room - breakfasts steep at 10 euros a head but you can get a cheeses and ham toasty in the bar at 2.50 euors which suffices !
the triple rooms work out better value.

to be honest you aint going to get a hotel much cheaper in the city centre - even the hostels are asking over 25 euoros a night for a bed in a mixed dorm !

bar prices ok on botel...but try and get your cold drinks for in your room from a supermarket as 1.80 for a bottle of water out the machine is a bit steep !

a tip ! stay outside amsterdam city centre - pumerand , volendam , edam etc . plenty of cheaper hotels ith great bus service in and out of the city - you can get a 4 star hotel twin room for £45 a night with breakfast .

word of warning if you have kids with you and stay on the amstel botel be carefull changing over your tv channels as one is hard core porn !
great if your adults alone but try explaining granny lust to a 10 year old !

oh yes and like precvious reviewer said it was extremly hot - temp gauge said 38 in the lobby - no air conditionng but i slept ok with windows open - pay extra for room with canal view but ask for floor 2 and above as floor 1 has view obscured by gangplank .

to be honest its an unusual place to stay - quite funky in a wierd 70's way - brilliant for the city centre and travel - central station etc

but don't expect luxury and be aware that they eask for payment upfront on arrival !
2 many scallies jumpin ship !

would stay again for convenience factor alone .

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    304
    250
    83
    56
See reviews for
73
346
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast- Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Myself and my partner stayed in the Botel from the 1st - 6th of july 06 and i had read about it before hand on the net and decided it looked quite good,I wasn't disapointed when we arrived however we were there during a heatwave and it was almost impossible to get asleep at nights as there was no air conditioning,when i asked at reception for a fan we were told there was none left so we basically had to like it or lump it.On the 2nd day we phoned reception to ask for an ironing board and iron to give our clothes the once over before we headed out on the town, 20 mins later..still no iron so rang reception again only to be told we had to go down to the front desk and collect the iron ourselves...not a major hassle as we weren't far from it but any other hotel ive stayed in brought stuff like irons to your room door!
Breakfast is provided every morning and when you check in they gave us the option to pay for breakfast for the duration of our stay or to pay every morning as we arrived in the breakfast area,the food was very good and was 10 euros and u could eat as much as you want however stay away from the tea and coffee vending machine..i dont know what it was in it but it certainly didnt taste like tea!!
Also i wouldnt recommend using the internet in the bar as it ate 2 euros on me and all i got was a blank screen,if you want to check your emails etc use the FREE computer in "the greenhouse effect' bar in town.
But the Botel does have its good points..It is VERY close to central station (5mins walk max) and although the rooms are small thats only to be expected with a hotel of its type, the rooms were immaculate and one thing i liked was the fact that the maids didnt bother you until you hung the wee sign on the outside of your room door saying you wished it to be cleaned, the bathroom is tiny but the shower was brilliant and was plenty of towels with extra ones in the cupboard in the room and there was a remote controlled tv with at least 30 channels including a few english ones, bbc world..music channels etc.

Another plus is the fact that there was a vending machine at the top of the stairs in the lobby with cans of heiniken in it (2 euros per can) and loads of soft drinks plus CANS of water and crisps etc.

Over all i would have no hesitation in using the Amstel Botel again however if you are planning to stay there, and you think the weather is going to be warm i strongly recommend purchasing some type of travel-fan for using in the rooms at night because your chances of getting one off the hotel are slim.

Please dont be put off staying in the Botel if you dont mind it being basic accomodation it is fine! If you have any questions or concerns about the botel email me and i'll try to help u.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

The rooms were comfortable and clean. The location was Excellent, easy access to town, all of the major busses or the trai n station. This place was a great deal and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

Just returned from a long weekend at the Botel. It was a stag weekend with 14 guys from England. Having worked until recently in the Netherlands, I was aware of the issues of city centre hotels but the Botel was an experience and a half.

The weather in Holland was fantastic last weekend – hot and humid - but the hotel has no air con, the corridors are very narrow and the rooms are VERY small. This combination results in rooms that have all the attractive features of a baker’s oven during the day and particularly at night.

I’ve travelled the world and stayed in some hotel rooms with small bathrooms but the bathrooms in the Botel wins hands down. Think telephone box ……. and I’m not exaggerating.

Some reviewers have passed this off as okay “because it’s a boat”. It’s not a boat – it’s a prefabricated structure on a concrete base that’s been made to look like a boat. The beds are small and remarkably uncomfortable, the storage space is nonexistent and there was a grand total of 3 hangers in our double room. The towels are paper thin, and there was no soap in the bathroom. There’s no tea and coffee making facilities and the ceiling tiles were badly stained from a leak above. I could forgive all of the above if the place was actually cheap – but it’s not. £70 room only isn’t that cheap for Amsterdam.

Having said all that, I surprised myself in that I actually enjoyed being there. The location is excellent (5 minutes walk from the central station, 3 minutes from the main trolley car station, 10 minutes walk from Dam Square) and for all its faults (and there are many !!) it’s actually quite appealing. If you’re looking for a bit of luxury and you like your comforts – the Botel is not for you. If you are a bunch of lads and/or lasses on the lash and prepared to slum it for a weekend and all you are interested in is location, this place is perfect.

Finally, we did wonder if, as we were a bunch of lads on a stag weekend, that they put us in the smallest/cruddiest rooms on purpose – just a thought.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I booked this Botel as it was cheap through lastminute.com, after paying for it I read the reviews on here, as was totally put off, so much so that I tried to cancel but couldn't.

However, It was not too bad at all. I speak as someone who stays in lots of hotels around the world, 3* and above. Ok, the room was basic but comfortable, the bathroom tiny, can only fit in one person, but the shower was fab, lots of towels (you dont need to bring your own) like someone said. Good TV reception with 2 or 3 english speaking channels. Clean room, very safe, cleaners ecah day if you wish. I would rate this a good 2*, and afterall we wern't in the room for long, out all day & night, so it suited the purpose. Do ask for another pillow each though.

The boat is on concrete as isn't actually floating, we requested a canal view, as you can see from the pics, there is a building in the process of being built on the other side, so we avoided that.

The staff were very friendly we found and helpful.

The breakfast is ok, lots to choose from.

It is a 5 minute walk from the station and a 5 minute walk to everywhere ekse, can't fault the location.

So please don't be put off as I was, it is worth the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2006

Stayed here with my partner in May 2006 - The weather was absolutely brilliant and the location of the hotel is brillian however, the rooms are veryv small and the bathrooms even smaller. No tea/coffee making facilities however, i had brought my own thankfully.

The hotel advertises luxury rooms but when i asked about this i was told all the rooms are luxury - i don't know how.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for long stays as it is as basic as they come and quite costly but i still enjoyed my stay.

Breakfast was excellent with much variety and continually topped up.

Extra pillows were required and were delivered promptly when asked for and rooms were cleaned daily with loo roll topped up.

English channels available on tv including bbc1 for those eastenders addicts and chill out evenings (if ya know what i mean!)

Overall a pleasant stay however, i would look around next time to get somewhere cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

I have already written a review of the Botel based on a previous stay. I decided to go back in March.

Unfortunately, I lost my credit cards en route - probably at the airport. The receptionist could not have been more helpful in getting them cancelled, to the point of helping me with my Dutch over the phone while I spoke to Customer Services at Schiphol Airport.

What could have been a very stressful situation was ameliorated by his friendliness and professionalism. When I got home a week later, new cards were waiting for me at my local sorting office.

That's all!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.