We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Best Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed here with 2 other friends. Both rooms were very clean, with everything you needed. (Along with the free porn channels!!) The breakfast was good and plenty of it. Nice friendly reception and bar staff was refreshing. We also used the complimentary room to leave our luggage on our last day as we only travelled home late that night.

The location was superb, just a very short walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the Red Light District.

For the price of this hotel, you can't really complain. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the ducks quacking very early in the morning!!! (That'll teach us to stay out too late!).

Would deffo stay again.

Michelle - Wigan, England

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    304
    249
    82
    56
See reviews for
72
345
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed at the Botel during Xmas and it was great. Good value for money, the rooms and hotel are clean, nice breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location. Cant fault it.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

After reading the reviews, I was a bit worried. I stayed here for 5 nights with my 2 kids age 5 and 8. It was suppose to rain all 5 days and it was the 1st time my daughter was without the stroller. I needed a hotel close to public transportation. This fit the bill. Central station was a stone throw away and we could get busses, trams, and trains very easily. The kids LOVED it. We had a triple and I thought there was plenty of space. Remember - this is a boat. I expected everything to be smaller, but it wasn't. The shower was tight but I've been in much smaller ones. Only one night did we hear anything and it wasn't that loud. We had a room on the 3rd floor - I would recommend 3rd or 4th. I was worried about the porn on the TV but they turned it off without me asking them. We also had 2 or 3 English kids stations to keep the little ones entertained while getting ready in the morning.

I would recommend the Botel for families and groups. If you're there with a spouse there are plenty of other small hotels. Amsterdam is great with kids especially Nemo and Tun Fun. The Van Gogh musuem has a wonderful free pamphlet for kids - searching for art, puzzles, etc. 5 days was not enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

My 15 year old daughter and i stayed here on the recommendation of rick steves guidebook in august and found it to be well above expectations for the price. The location was perfect - a short walk from the train station - and convenient to water or bus transportation. It was unique, which we both loved.
We would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2005

Great Location: Husband & I went for a long weekend break. The location of the Botel is great. Get off the plane, hop on a train & then walk the short distance to the Botel - perfect. Hubby had stayed there on two other occasions so hence the return trip to the Botel.

Its very near the red-light district and a very short distance to the main area where you can pick up the canal tour boats. There are fab restaurants very nearby, so I can't comment on the food at the Botel as we did not eat there. Though we did have a few nightcaps in the bar - again fine.

The rooms are not hugh, we got on ok and we are both big people (width & height). Its a boat at the end of the day, so some head ducking for tall people is required. Yep, ok the showers are small, but it did the job. We used the Botel as a base for our sightseeing, it therefore met with out criteria. It was clean, very warm and we did not notice the noise from other rooms - guess it was due to the constant exercise through sightseeing, excellant food & fresh air. We will be using it again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2005

We stayed in this Hotel last week. We had two rooms one double and one triple. The double room had a dirty toilet filled with **** , honestly !!. The triple room had a single bed and two bunk beds leaving very small room to unpack luggages etc etc. The rooms are very small , the walls are very thin any being very close to the central station , trains are heard all the time !!. Breakfast was decent , staff not so friendly tough eg: barman didnt want to make us a cup of hot water. Avoid it .

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

If your looking for a central, clean, bright and reasonbly priced accomodation, this is the one for you. The Botel is simple, spotless and right on the door step of everything. I went in October of this year and all 8 of us had a fantastic time, and we are all in our 40,s and 50,s. We paid £62.00 per night but that was sharing, so we each paid £31.00 per night, which I think is pretty reasonable.
If 8 women between the ages of 40 and 50 can enjoy it, then everyone will. Enjoy your break !

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.