We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to Dam Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Right next to Dam Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

If your looking for a central, clean, bright and reasonbly priced accomodation, this is the one for you. The Botel is simple, spotless and right on the door step of everything. I went in October of this year and all 8 of us had a fantastic time, and we are all in our 40,s and 50,s. We paid £62.00 per night but that was sharing, so we each paid £31.00 per night, which I think is pretty reasonable.
If 8 women between the ages of 40 and 50 can enjoy it, then everyone will. Enjoy your break !

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    280
    241
    79
    56
See reviews for
67
329
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

We got to this hotel after travelling from Brussels. To our surprise they had no water supply so we had to wait till the evening to take a shower. We were put in a 3rd floor room which was ok but we had the view at the back of the boat, this consisted of overflowing drainage & construction work. The breakfast was really basic & nothing special. Luckily for us, we asked for a room change & got it. A strange thing happened while we were changing rooms. My partner left a bag in the room & i left a cleanser. When we realised, we enquired at the reception & she told that nothing was left in the room. Bet the cleansers really enjoyed my $60 cleanser! The rooms are really small & compact, not to mention the showers!! I wouldnt recommended to anyone. Its not worth the money, staying in a hostel would be less costly and you'll get the same thing!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

I stayed at the Amstel Botel for 3 nights with my partner recently. The Botel is basic but we found it clean and very central for the Centraal Station and sight seeing in Amsterdam. Not the kind of hotel you would want to spend too much time in but then who does when you're on a short break in a European city. Rooms are very basic, bathrooms are a bit too small to manage comfortably but ok for the neccesities. Fab if you want to get a cheap flight, catch the train from Schiphol airport to centraal station, Amsterdam for 3 euros and walk to the Botel. You can get the tram or bus right outside centraal station really cheap. Probably best suited for students and young people on a budget although there were a mix of people staying there at the same time as us. A fab city to visit. The destination should be the priority!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

Just got back from the Botel after a 3 night stay. We stayed there before almost 4 years ago and enjoyed it, and it was better than I remembered! It appears to have been turned round 180 degrees (I don't think I'm imagining it, I don't even touch the dope :-) and the person who said it doesn't float - explain that then!!) Anyway, the metal walkway is a new addition because of this and is one gripe I have. We paid extra for a canal view room, and were put on the first floor, which would have been fine apart from the fact we couldn't see (or hear) anything but the walkway, so what a rip-off that was! Was looking forward to the view we had last time, especially at night. They shouldn't advertise the first floor rooms as canal view. Apart from that, the place is spotless, beds are very comfortable and the shower is powerful and plenty of hot water. Yes the walls are very thin and we did have our very own live sex show (well the audio version) at 2am, but they got a nice waking up from our alarm at 8am so think we were quits :-) Don't expect peace and quiet! The bar was great for a couple of drinks when you get back if you're early, maybe it could shut a little later (closes 12.45am) but then again it would be even noisier wouldn't it. If you're bothered by the 5-10 minutes into town, catch the tram (you can buy a 48 hour ticket for 10 euros which is good if you plan to do loads of sightseeing) All in all, pretty good value and would use it again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

I found the hotel to be very average with some problems that need to be considered before you book the hotel.
1 You have to pay up front even before you see your room then try to get anything changed or attended to, you will find it hard.
2 Hope you get good neighbours who will have consideration for other people when they return to the hotel in the early hours of the morning. The walls are so thin and flexable they do not kill any noise. Again when you complain you get negative feedback and very little help.
3 The bathrooms are all in need of very big facelift. They are moldy and smell unpleasant.
I don,t think I would stay at the Botel if I returned to Amsterdam and I would say you should consider very carefully if it is the sort of hotel you want. All I would say it would suit a stag or hen party then they could make all the noise they want and everyone would be in the same boat (pardon the pun)

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

Came here for my Girlfriends Birthday on a city break.

Enjoyed the location - easy walking distance to Amsterdam's "interesting" nightlife.

Yes the rooms are small and could do with a facelift, but they are clean & tidy and the free in-room porn channel was an unexpected bonus!

Can recommend the floating Chinese next door to the Botel - fantastic food and views.

Overall, good cheap(ish) accomodation in a wonderful city that is a change from the usual hotel one might stay in.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights in September it was my first time in Amsterdam and after reading all of the reviews I did not know what to expect. We found the Amstel a great location, very clean, which I think is one of the most important things and great value for money. The staff were very helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We did not have any complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.