We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ostend, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“visit the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

not the luxury,but the price is honest fot what you get. Easy access withe the free ferry. Also important are the public parking facilities which are recently have become paying.
For a short stay max. 2 nights i would recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a room on the sea side, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    304
    249
    83
    56
See reviews for
72
346
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel was certainly budget, the rooms were very small and bathroom was tiny (but clean). Location was amusing but very annoying to catch the ferry back and forth to the city. I would not recommend staying here unless everything is booked out.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This wouldn't be my usual choice of hotel but my wife has wanted to stay here for a while so I took her for her 30th birthday.

After looking at some photographs online, I wasn't expecting much from this place. It's quite dated and fairly basic but it's clean and functional, the bed is comfortable and the staff are friendly. The bathroom was on the small side but water pressure was good. The location of the hotel might be a problem for some as it's a little bit out of the city and you have to take a (free) ferry to access it, but for me this was a bonus as it let us escape from central Amsterdam after a long day and night in the city. The boat is every 30 minutes and you can be in central Amsterdam within about 15 minutes of leaving the Botel.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - the hot food was not great but the continental selection of meats and cheeses was very good.

All in all, I probably wouldn't stay at the Botel again but not because there was anything wrong with it. On the contrary, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely suggest that people give it a try if they want something different.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We only stayed one night in July but we can confirm that you get what you pay. Clean and quiet rooms, free wifi and very well connected to Amsterdam Central Stationby a free public ferry. Excellent option for visitors with limited budget

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is located on the north side of the harbour, but it's very easy to take the free ferry to the central station. The boat is nothing special but clean and functional, and the area has some very good and in fact fancy modern restaurants and bars. The service in the reception is nothing special, but they do what's supposed. The only "problem" can be, that you maybe do not go back and relax an hour, and then go back to town - but you stay in the area in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was very cheap compared to other hotels in amsterdam. The rooms are basic and clean and you are a short ferry trip away from the central station and the ferry is for free.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel it's very basic and quite compact but is how ever a nice quirky hotel to stay in! There's a free ferry to the centre of Amsterdam which is all fine and dandy until your coming back on it at midnight in the middle of January when the weather is freezing! Not nice at all but that's nothing to do with the hotel just a warning! The breakfast was a nice added bonus for us.

Staff we're very friendly and helpful and could answer any questions we had!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.