We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious but decent and different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
uk
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not luxurious but decent and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This wouldn't be my usual choice of hotel but my wife has wanted to stay here for a while so I took her for her 30th birthday.

After looking at some photographs online, I wasn't expecting much from this place. It's quite dated and fairly basic but it's clean and functional, the bed is comfortable and the staff are friendly. The bathroom was on the small side but water pressure was good. The location of the hotel might be a problem for some as it's a little bit out of the city and you have to take a (free) ferry to access it, but for me this was a bonus as it let us escape from central Amsterdam after a long day and night in the city. The boat is every 30 minutes and you can be in central Amsterdam within about 15 minutes of leaving the Botel.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - the hot food was not great but the continental selection of meats and cheeses was very good.

All in all, I probably wouldn't stay at the Botel again but not because there was anything wrong with it. On the contrary, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely suggest that people give it a try if they want something different.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    384
    307
    100
    65
See reviews for
89
440
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We only stayed one night in July but we can confirm that you get what you pay. Clean and quiet rooms, free wifi and very well connected to Amsterdam Central Stationby a free public ferry. Excellent option for visitors with limited budget

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is located on the north side of the harbour, but it's very easy to take the free ferry to the central station. The boat is nothing special but clean and functional, and the area has some very good and in fact fancy modern restaurants and bars. The service in the reception is nothing special, but they do what's supposed. The only "problem" can be, that you maybe do not go back and relax an hour, and then go back to town - but you stay in the area in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was very cheap compared to other hotels in amsterdam. The rooms are basic and clean and you are a short ferry trip away from the central station and the ferry is for free.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel it's very basic and quite compact but is how ever a nice quirky hotel to stay in! There's a free ferry to the centre of Amsterdam which is all fine and dandy until your coming back on it at midnight in the middle of January when the weather is freezing! Not nice at all but that's nothing to do with the hotel just a warning! The breakfast was a nice added bonus for us.

Staff we're very friendly and helpful and could answer any questions we had!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Me and hubby planned a romantic weekend away and thought we would stay hear as it was unusual and never stayed on a boat before, we got there finally! And the rooms were small and very dirty , the exsperience for us was awfull that we only stayed the one night , we dident even waste our energy I'm checking out, the only good thing about this place is that is wasent far from the Plaza park Victoria hotel , and we checked in hear for the rest of our weekend and the lady at the desk told us we wasent the only ones from the botel to have checked in with them too that day . Overall ok only for back packers on a budget !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel instresting that it is a ship though.
You get what you pay for, as it has all the basics plus a bar and complimentary breakfast.
Only problem is that it is a little way from the centre but it your willing to use the free ferry it shouldnt be a problem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Otel, HostelBookers and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.