We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice affordable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice affordable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've stayed at the Botel twice this Summer. Its a unique experience, I've never had a room in a boat before. Its also convenient, the ferry service makes it easy to get back and forth to Amsterdam Centraal, but it does take some time. For me it was nice to get away, but you should consider this when making your choice.

For my money, and security, I'll stay at the Botel whenever I'm in Amsterdam.

Note: Make sure you have a mobile phone to call the shuttle if you're taking the ferry after midnight. Also note: The Wifi is good for little more than sending emails.

Room Tip: There are two sides to the boat, the only real advantage of being "water side" is that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    372
    298
    97
    65
See reviews for
87
425
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We knew the botel was across the other side of the river at NDSM dock so were able to find it easily, using the train and ferry from the airport. Ferry was always busy but free and runs every 15 minutes at peak times.

Efficient check in but the room was very basic, like being back in the 70s. Tiny bathroom but functional and everything was clean. Comfy bed with spotless linen (would have appreciated additional pillows).

The deck area seemed to be closed off for most of our stay for reasons we didn't understand and all the local restaurants (some on boats) closed early evening so eating out later at night had to be in the city itself. Breakfast at the Botel was acceptable with a decent choice - hot food could have been hotter, nothing worse than luke warm baked beans! Bar prices were reasonable and staff friendly.

We liked the location and the fact that it was a floating hotel (something different) and for what we paid at this time of year in Amsterdam, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: The view from our room was good as we overlooked the submarine and ferry terminal - it was then easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good points:

The hotel is in a great location with easy access via a free ferry into town and into centraal station. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.

There are a few bars around the hotel for guests to have food drinks.

Points to note:

The rooms are small and cosy
The walls are thin and therefore yiu can hear alot of noises from other rooms, hallways etc.
The bed is not thst comfortable and the bathroom is tiny.
A goid point is that check out is at 11 and you can extend this to 6 fit a fee of 25 euro
The breakfast is average.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

There nothing special about this Botel - clean, basic and cheap, I enjoyed the fact it was my first time staying on a Botel.

Trying to find the Botel for the first time was somewhat difficult as the instructions on their website are basic. A free ferry service will take you there every 20-30 mins, only a 10 minute ride. (Ferry located at the back of centraal station to the left).

The bar is ok but limited, two types of beer (Light and Dark) on offer, food also limited to a hamburger or a sandwich, Saying that the hamburger and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The barman at the botel sits watching football on tv when the bar is busy,, his next priority is texting his friends,, his last priority is serving beer.. you will not find him behind the bar,, the night porter closed the lounge and bar at 1.00am at half time during the England v italy game when it was full of hotel guests,, incredibly he switched off the tv then the barman closed the bar and told all the hotel guests to leave now... unbelievable ,,,,,,!,,,,,..

Room Tip: Rooms are good,,, but dont mess with the barman .. he does what he likes..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

from Amsterdam central a ferry to botel then3 mins walk Room and bed was very clean and,comfortable, working radiator,shower excellent breakfast was sufficient definitely will be using it in the future

Room Tip: not over the bar juke box noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had an average experience with this hotel in Amsterdam.

As everybody knows, it's located on the other side of the river and to reach this hotel you need to get a ferry (free of charge) from the central station. To be honest, I normally don't mind using public transport to reach city centers when I am on holidays but on this case, it was really annoying. The ferry takes ages to reach the hotel and it's always busy. When you miss the ferry, you have to wait 30 minutes for another one, but if you're lucky enough, sometimes 15 minutes. The tip is, be careful with timing, otherwise you will waste a lot of time with that. Be careful with the name of the destination of the ferry, otherwise you mind end up in the wrong place (check hotel page for info).

The neighborhood is very safe and there are some places to eat nearby but we didn't try any of them. By the way, none of them were open till late, so if you want to eat something late night, do at the central station or in the city center.

The botel have a good size window in the rooms and I was a bit worried about the noise. Wen we got inside to the room after checking in, I could clearly hear people next door chatting up (not from the window but by the wall - very thin). Luckily, I couldn't hear a thing later on, as they were quietly at night time otherwise could a nightmare. The downsides in the room were: 1 - The room was small, so not many places to leave your personal stuff; 2 - Curtains not thick and dark enough to avoid brightness early morning.

The bed was comfortable with decent size, the bedding sheets were all very clean, but the only down side would be the pillow, it's very low.

The bathroom is very, very small with good shower pressure. All towels were very clean and changed everyday.

You will have a TV in your room, but I didn't had time to watch, so I don't know if they have a good channel selection.

The staff is polite, fast (check in/out) and the room is very well cleaned.

The WiFi signal was weak and not too fast, but at least it's free!

Breakfast was really, really good, they have bread, cereal, bacon, baked beans, sausage, orange juice, salami, cheese, yogurt and etc.

Overall, this place wouldn't be our fist choice, but if we couldn't find cheaper hotels, we would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.