We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

There nothing special about this Botel - clean, basic and cheap, I enjoyed the fact it was my first time staying on a Botel.

Trying to find the Botel for the first time was somewhat difficult as the instructions on their website are basic. A free ferry service will take you there every 20-30 mins, only a 10 minute ride. (Ferry located at the back of centraal station to the left).

The bar is ok but limited, two types of beer (Light and Dark) on offer, food also limited to a hamburger or a sandwich, Saying that the hamburger and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    275
    239
    78
    56
See reviews for
66
326
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The barman at the botel sits watching football on tv when the bar is busy,, his next priority is texting his friends,, his last priority is serving beer.. you will not find him behind the bar,, the night porter closed the lounge and bar at 1.00am at half time during the England v italy game when it was full of hotel guests,, incredibly he switched off the tv then the barman closed the bar and told all the hotel guests to leave now... unbelievable ,,,,,,!,,,,,..

Room Tip: Rooms are good,,, but dont mess with the barman .. he does what he likes..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

from Amsterdam central a ferry to botel then3 mins walk Room and bed was very clean and,comfortable, working radiator,shower excellent breakfast was sufficient definitely will be using it in the future

Room Tip: not over the bar juke box noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had an average experience with this hotel in Amsterdam.

As everybody knows, it's located on the other side of the river and to reach this hotel you need to get a ferry (free of charge) from the central station. To be honest, I normally don't mind using public transport to reach city centers when I am on holidays but on this case, it was really annoying. The ferry takes ages to reach the hotel and it's always busy. When you miss the ferry, you have to wait 30 minutes for another one, but if you're lucky enough, sometimes 15 minutes. The tip is, be careful with timing, otherwise you will waste a lot of time with that. Be careful with the name of the destination of the ferry, otherwise you mind end up in the wrong place (check hotel page for info).

The neighborhood is very safe and there are some places to eat nearby but we didn't try any of them. By the way, none of them were open till late, so if you want to eat something late night, do at the central station or in the city center.

The botel have a good size window in the rooms and I was a bit worried about the noise. Wen we got inside to the room after checking in, I could clearly hear people next door chatting up (not from the window but by the wall - very thin). Luckily, I couldn't hear a thing later on, as they were quietly at night time otherwise could a nightmare. The downsides in the room were: 1 - The room was small, so not many places to leave your personal stuff; 2 - Curtains not thick and dark enough to avoid brightness early morning.

The bed was comfortable with decent size, the bedding sheets were all very clean, but the only down side would be the pillow, it's very low.

The bathroom is very, very small with good shower pressure. All towels were very clean and changed everyday.

You will have a TV in your room, but I didn't had time to watch, so I don't know if they have a good channel selection.

The staff is polite, fast (check in/out) and the room is very well cleaned.

The WiFi signal was weak and not too fast, but at least it's free!

Breakfast was really, really good, they have bread, cereal, bacon, baked beans, sausage, orange juice, salami, cheese, yogurt and etc.

Overall, this place wouldn't be our fist choice, but if we couldn't find cheaper hotels, we would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Botel between 30th May & 3rd June. On arrival the staff were friendly & although our room wasn't ready we could store our luggage there & explore Amsterdam. The room was basic & a little dusty but other than that it was ok & the bathroom was clean. They also provided a travel cot for our 1 year old which was brilliant. The room was a decent size too & fitted all 3 of us in no problem. The only downside is the walls are quite thin so you can hear every word, sound, television etc from adjoining rooms. I probably would stay somewhere more central next time as it was sometimes a bind getting the boat with a 1 year old but other than that it was ok.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Botel is located across the canal from central station so the ferry is required to get into the centre. The free ferry runs every half hr and takes 15 mins and are timed to the second on a counter at the dock..Arriving at the Botel was easy and check in was fine., the rooms are very basic just a bed !! the ensuite was tiny although clean. Also, there were no extras such as toiletries or tea and coffee facilities. No hair dryer either.
The smell of air freshener greeted us, but after a while we realised why it just masked the smell of sweat. The bed was well worn to the extent where there were two impressions in the mattress but reasonably comfortable. Sheets were clean as were the duvet cover but no slip sheet between the duvet and yourself.Breakfast was okay a reasonable variety of stuff. As a bonus there was free porn on the tv all day.

This is not 3 star hotel i've stayed in better caravans in the UK.!!

Room Tip: They have upgraded somerooms recently so ask for these
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Amstel Botel 23rd to 26th May 2014. The rooms are small but adequate and clean. Shower was bijou!! but working ok. The breakfast was ok,shame no fresh fruit. The ferry to the town was good and ran to schedule. All in all a good location and fairly quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.