We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Save Saved
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Botel between 30th May & 3rd June. On arrival the staff were friendly & although our room wasn't ready we could store our luggage there & explore Amsterdam. The room was basic & a little dusty but other than that it was ok & the bathroom was clean. They also provided a travel cot for our 1 year old which was brilliant. The room was a decent size too & fitted all 3 of us in no problem. The only downside is the walls are quite thin so you can hear every word, sound, television etc from adjoining rooms. I probably would stay somewhere more central next time as it was sometimes a bind getting the boat with a 1 year old but other than that it was ok.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    255
    231
    75
    54
See reviews for
62
308
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Botel is located across the canal from central station so the ferry is required to get into the centre. The free ferry runs every half hr and takes 15 mins and are timed to the second on a counter at the dock..Arriving at the Botel was easy and check in was fine., the rooms are very basic just a bed !! the ensuite was tiny although clean. Also, there were no extras such as toiletries or tea and coffee facilities. No hair dryer either.
The smell of air freshener greeted us, but after a while we realised why it just masked the smell of sweat. The bed was well worn to the extent where there were two impressions in the mattress but reasonably comfortable. Sheets were clean as were the duvet cover but no slip sheet between the duvet and yourself.Breakfast was okay a reasonable variety of stuff. As a bonus there was free porn on the tv all day.

This is not 3 star hotel i've stayed in better caravans in the UK.!!

Room Tip: They have upgraded somerooms recently so ask for these
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Amstel Botel 23rd to 26th May 2014. The rooms are small but adequate and clean. Shower was bijou!! but working ok. The breakfast was ok,shame no fresh fruit. The ferry to the town was good and ran to schedule. All in all a good location and fairly quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was good value for money and I was impressed with the cleanliness and tidiness of the rooms. Good location to the centre of Amsterdam. The cooked breakfast was not really edible and I had to keep asking for extra cutlery etc as it was not on the table.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here as part of a group trip. With just two people in the room, space was tight! It was basic and cheap, and reasonably clean. While it is close to the city by ferry, the ferry is infrequent and quite irritating to manage if you have a bike. I visited Amsterdam during the hot Summer, and the room was very hot - ask for a fan at reception. Not a bad option for the budget-conscious, but not great either!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good price but thats about it. Its 10 mins away on ferry from the station. But the ferry is once in 30 mins. Cleanliness and basic stuff is ok but staff courtesy is not great. Kitchen staff for breakfast were rude to us.....every morning. I'm not going back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

i have just returned from 3 nights here. Our twin room was perfectly big enough though the shower room was tight- like on a boat. Plenty of hot water for showers, very clean and the linen was changed every day. After reading reviews I took soap, shampoo and hairdryer with me. Safe and WiFi worked well. Rather hot at night but we were there in a minor heatwave, but overall slept well in a comfortable bed. Staff mostly friendly and eventually we managed to arrange an early breakfast as we had an early flight home. The ferry to the station is fast, frequent and free. Highly recommended budget accommodation in a pretty expensive city

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.