We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Amstel Botel 23rd to 26th May 2014. The rooms are small but adequate and clean. Shower was bijou!! but working ok. The breakfast was ok,shame no fresh fruit. The ferry to the town was good and ran to schedule. All in all a good location and fairly quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    317
    260
    87
    56
See reviews for
75
364
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was good value for money and I was impressed with the cleanliness and tidiness of the rooms. Good location to the centre of Amsterdam. The cooked breakfast was not really edible and I had to keep asking for extra cutlery etc as it was not on the table.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here as part of a group trip. With just two people in the room, space was tight! It was basic and cheap, and reasonably clean. While it is close to the city by ferry, the ferry is infrequent and quite irritating to manage if you have a bike. I visited Amsterdam during the hot Summer, and the room was very hot - ask for a fan at reception. Not a bad option for the budget-conscious, but not great either!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good price but thats about it. Its 10 mins away on ferry from the station. But the ferry is once in 30 mins. Cleanliness and basic stuff is ok but staff courtesy is not great. Kitchen staff for breakfast were rude to us.....every morning. I'm not going back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

i have just returned from 3 nights here. Our twin room was perfectly big enough though the shower room was tight- like on a boat. Plenty of hot water for showers, very clean and the linen was changed every day. After reading reviews I took soap, shampoo and hairdryer with me. Safe and WiFi worked well. Rather hot at night but we were there in a minor heatwave, but overall slept well in a comfortable bed. Staff mostly friendly and eventually we managed to arrange an early breakfast as we had an early flight home. The ferry to the station is fast, frequent and free. Highly recommended budget accommodation in a pretty expensive city

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

For a cheap place to stay it is fantastic. Rooms are basic. There was three of us in our room and there were bunk-beds in ours. It was a fun experience! The breakfast is continental and there is a good choice. You will feel like you are rocking for days afterwards but that is all part of the fun! The Botel is clean, and comfortable. The only downside is the location isn't central, although ferries do run every 15 minutes to take you into Amsterdam square. The bathroom is a bit of a squeeze, but for a place to rest you're head and refuel with a good breakfast I would recommend. Plus the location of the botel is lovely and we took some fantastic photographs around there. Perfect if there is a large group of you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

very close to the center, you can reach the central station by ferry, which is free and runs 2 per hour. you can take the ferry behind Central Station
the rooms are large (very large if you compare with other boats, and normal if you compare with a hotel room. The bathroom a little bit smelly, but O.K

the breakfast was excellent - English and continental. helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.