We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and ideal for a short break on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
W.yorks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and ideal for a short break on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here with two friends for a weekend away.It was the second time we have stayed here.It is clean and functional.Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean.Bathroom is very small as other reviewers have said.Breakfast is good and plentiful.It has a small bar with a pool table.
It attracts people from various European countries.We have never seen any rowdiness,which is good.You have get a free ferry from the back of Centraal station.Turn left and go to the furthest landing stage.Takes 10 mins each journey and they run on average every 30 mins.In fact it is a nice journey with fellow Amsterdamers.
It is ideal if you are on a budget and want somewhere clean and warm.If you are looking for a special hotel with tiled floors,chic bar then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    304
    249
    83
    56
See reviews for
72
346
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was a little far walk from main square
rooms were small
bathroom was too small
but the feel of being on the ship was good
no breakfast was there
In September it rained a few times so was a little tricky to walk up and down

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torfaen, Wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff were very helpful. The room was quite basic, but very good for the price. It was clean, the bathroom was small, but how much room do you need? We would certainly use the Botel again. The double bed was large and we had two very good night's sleep in a very quiet room. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The free ferry to the centre of Amsterdam (Central Station) runs every 30 minutes and was no problem at all. There is a room where you can store luggage after check out for the day which was very useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

RECEPTION-very friendly and helpful, the lady with the dark curly hair was full of useful info, she advised us to hire a cycle each, which we did , 30 euros each for 24 hours, defiantly worth it !
ROOM- bigger than I expected to be honest , shower, toilet and sink room are a bit cramped , but don't forget this is really a cabin , not a luxury suite, room had a little wardrobe, writing desk with draws , and shelving above the bed , which suited us fine , beds are a little hard, but not a massive deal ,I asked for extra pillows ( good tip),rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily , we had waterside view , its not a 'dreamy',view , but not horrid , lovely sunrise in the mornings , and you can see the ferry coming in.
FOOD- we had paid for b and b , there were cornflakes, various meat and cheese, hot bacon , sausage, beans and hard boiled eggs, plenty of bread and fruit toast (to toast yourself), tea/coffee/juice is ALL self service, its a typically European b/fast so don't expect typical English things( when in Rome ).
They have a bar serving hot,cold,and alcoholic drinks, but we didn't use it much as we were mainly out.
My only downside was that because our flight home was so early that we missed b/fast and the botel didn't provide a takeaway b/fast box or something similar .
You can hire a spare adaptor if needed from reception for a 5euro deposit .
I would highly recommend hiring a 'yellow bike' for at least 1 day , its a lot of fun , but keep your wits about you, and take a map /guide, EVERYONE seems to cycle here , its fast paced and a bit scary at times , but is still a must do experience x

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here in September and loved it!! its so unique. Very easy to access and loved the wee ferry across each day. ideal location for the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms was basic but comfy and ideal for its purpose. Breakfast was good and had plenty for us to eat. Booked up again for next year!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend got home last night after a 4 night stay at the amstel botel. We were really looking forward to staying on a boat rather than in a hotel but we didn't enjoy out stay as much as we would of done. Overall it was very basic; the rooms, the service, the menu, everything. I understand its a boat and I knew the rooms and bathrooms wouldn't be huge but they were so small it was difficult to deal with. Me and my friend are both slim women and we struggled to shower. There was only 3 UK tv channels and when we asked about the free in house movies that was advertised on the side of the boat, we were told it was advertising the free porn channel! The location is good as it's only a 10 minute ferry ride from centraal station and it's free. Last ferry is 11.45 but if you miss it like we did, you can get on the ferry for just 3 mins and then a 10 minute bus journey (24hrs) and a 10 minute walk. The woman that checked us in and out was so miserable and rude! Not a good face for the botel at all. We didn't have the breakfast as the reviews I read weren't great and I was wasn't willing to pay €10 each to eat there when there are plenty of other places 10 mins away. The bar is open until 1am and seemed pretty lively but if you want a drink or sandwich during the day, it's hard to find someone to serve you. We did enjoy staying on a boat but wouldn't stay here again. It doesn't deserve the 3 stars that it's rated, I would say it was more like 2*

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Bed was ok, no shower pressure, moldy shower curtain.

After ordering a few drinks with friends at the bar I asked for a glass of water (to clear my throat) and the bartender who was busy playing with his phone (guy with dark hair and sideburns) told me to "get it from the bathroom". What a jerk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.