We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Save Saved
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Me and my boyfriend picked the botel for a different kind of experience than we have had before in hotels on land. He had also been before, and enjoyed it, so I tried it out.

Check in:
Quick and easy, although bedrooms were ready sort of late - at 2pm. We arrived a little early and had to wait about 40 minutes to get into our room. Check out was even quicker, and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. He gave us maps, vouchers and some advice on the ferry, including a timetable.

Rooms:
The room itself is an adequate size. The bed is quite big if you order a double, although there isn't much storage space. This was no bother though, as we didn't have many clothes with us for a short break. The bathroom is titchy - it is literally the size of a large box. You can use the toilet, brush your teeth and wash your hair at the same time. Again, I was expecting this as it's a botel, not a hotel. It has basic facilities in the room, although I was surprised as to how many channels were on the tv available. We also had an alarm clock which was great.

Location:
I loved the thought of the botel being away from the hustle and bustle of the main city centre. However, on the two of the three nights, we were woken up by refurbishment on some of the hotel rooms, and people downstairs working by scrapping stuff off the boat which made a racket in our room. I loved the way you need to get a ferry - NDSM Werf for getting to the botel, and the Centraal one to get to city centre. There is a shuttle bus runs at night from the other ferry stop that drops you at the hotel door, which is a great service for the botel to provide, although there was limited seating as a 7 seater, and there was no timetable for it - it just arrived at random times during the night.

Amsterdam is a lovely city, and we saw many couples on holiday here as well, which I wasn't expecting. I thought it would have been all single men. It is a beautiful city with lovely buildings, and eateries and museums. The RLD is a must-see when you come here. It is truly amazing to see a country which is no way like your own.

Overall, good hotel if you are looking for basic accommodation, and something a bit more quirky than usual. If you don't mind getting a ferry back and forth, it's also for you. If not, and you look for luxury, the expected and convienence, then you will be disappointed.

Can't comment on food/bar, as I never used these facilities, only the vending machines on the third floor.

Room Tip: Try getting a third floor room or higher.. I was in 2nd and could hear all the work downstairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    270
    237
    78
    54
See reviews for
65
323
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Botel is a pretty basic hotel, but rooms are reasonably sized, and location not as inconvenient as some of the reviews on here suggest - there's a ferry every 15 minutes from Central station which drops you just around the corner. These run precisely on time, so if you use the hotel's free wifi to look up the timetable up can avoid waiting around at the port.

The bathroom is, as others have indicated, tiny. That said, this seems to be the case in all but the most expensive hotels in Amsterdam, in my experience (the bathroom at the Westcord I stayed in earlier in the year was even smaller!). Despite its size, it was perfectly adequate with a surprisingly decent shower.

Room was quiet, warm and comfortable, if a little down-at-heel and basic.

In all, a good-value, budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November and loved it!! A pleasant surprise. Note this is situated a ferry ride up the water from Centraal station. The ferry is free as runs all day and u need to catch the one "NDSM Werf". Free shuttle bus available late nights from wherever u are! Now the Botel..... Great sized rooms baring in mind it's a former ferry, very clean, great continental and cooked buffet breakfasts, nice bar, very friendly staff and rooms and towels done daily!! I cannot reccomended this hotel enough although if you are planning wild nights out then I would suggest a more central hotel in the city centre. Overall it was amazing!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not quite what it says on the tin! Not central and a real pain to get to town. A boat ride required to get to the Botel which goes every 15 mins or so from the main train station. Only 10 minutes journey, but probably not worth the effort and finishes at 12.45am. Accomodation is very basic (but so is the price), breakfast pretty poor standard and if you're happy to stay awake alnight then this is your place! Staff ok, but not terribly friendly. Bedroom ok but bathroom, sorry shower room, is tiny. You could sit on the loo, clean your teeth in the sink and have a shower at the same time!
Loved Amsterdam, but won't be retuning to the Botel

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the Botel. After reading other reviews I was a little worried about the bathroom situation as Im not the smallest of people, BUT there was no problem what so ever. Yes it was small but you could still use it with no trouble, the shower was really powerful, the toilet is close to the sink but its fine unless you read on the loo and therefor you may find it a little uncomfy after a while. The beds were not the most comfy beds, but again they were ok for the 4 nights we were there. We were very lucky and had a top floor water view room which enabled us to leave the curtains open to watch the sun rise in the mornings. We found there was plenty of storage with a wardrobe, 3 draws and a long shelf above the bed. We tucked suitcases under the bed as well. The breakfast was cooked well, hot and plentiful. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. the bar in the evening was well stocked and was a lot cheaper than in the City. They had a pool table, jukebox, darts board and big TV. Free Wi-Fi throughout the boat. Vendy machines for those late night snackers.
There is a ferry that runs very regular from the hotel over to the centre, and if you stay out after the last ferry direct to the hotel stops running then there is a 'short ferry' that takes you over the other side where a shuttle bus from the hotel will be there to meet you.
This hotel is perfect as a base for your trip to Amsterdam, its very clean, warm and safe to stay, I liked the fact it’s a little further out of the way as it was not as noisy and did not seem to attract the typical 'stag' breaks. However if you like space and luxury while on holiday this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and water view. If you arrive before the check in time of 3pm, its always wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As expected, basic but quirky, cheap and cheerful, clean and perfectly adequate . Free wi-fi and the safe was 18 euros with a 15 euro refund when you return the key. It is true the bathroom is tiny but the actual room is a decent size. Breakfast not brilliant but again perfectly adequate. There is a boat bar opposite and another bar/restaurant round the corner with a play area. The ferry was frequent so no more of a nuisance than going 4 or 5 stops on the metro although only half hourly at night and on Sunday. From the back of Centraal Station, cross the road, turn left and look for the last ferry which goes to NDSM

Room Tip: Higher floor, canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms are small, we were situated on reception level and our room faced the street, so people could easily see inside as they were walking past.
Bathroom is TINY. It was hard to sit on the toilet as the sink was right in your face and the shower was right on the other side. We did not have a shower head, just a hose. so the water would come down like a tap, which made hair washing quite difficult.

Good breakfast with sliced bread, bacon, baked beans and sausages as well as the other standard stuff.

It is a short 2 min walk to the free ferry that takes you across to Centraal Station where it is easy walking distance to main shopping district and red light district.

For the guys... or girls, there is free porn for you to enjoy on the television.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.