We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and chearful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Botel to your Saves list
Amstel Botel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cheap and chearful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

stayed here nov 2011, rooms are ok, food was nice, restaurant was nice, friendly staff, would stay again, location great, ferry to boat, the ferry is every half hour until midnight, if you go back after midnight the botel has a mini-bus to pick you up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    351
    285
    91
    64
See reviews for
82
401
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

After being told this hotel was right behind Centraal Station imagine my shock to discover that it really was right behind Centraal Station albeit 3km and a ferry ride away! My travel agent's fault and not Amstel Botel's. Despite that unpleasant surprise the hotel itself is very good to stay on. Rooms are clean and compact, typical cabin size. En suite bathrooms are exactly what you would expect on a boat. Staff are friendly and informative. They will supply you with plenty of advice on how to get free ferries/buses to Amsterdam and back again. Breakfast is usual continental fare in a buffet style. I was surprised to read that other reviewers felt sea sick. For me it wasn't all that obvious most of the time that I was staying on a boat. It is very well secured. One word of warning if you have small children.... you may want to supervise the remote control for your tv as there are 'adult channels' freely available.
Amstel Botel is excellent value for money compared to a lot of Amsterdam hotels but not ideal if you want to be a bit more centrally based. Having said that the free ferry service is quite good but personally I'd rather be staying in the city itself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The first time i had stayed on a boat and i loved it!

The reception staff were very helpful apart from the Chinese lady who could have made more of an effort. The Cabin / room was small but really nice, clean and comfortable.

The bed was very firm and bigger than expected - the pillows were the only let down as they were very thin. The view from the room was excellent with a view of a submarine. Bathroom was a little small but shower had good pressure. A little bit of noise from other guests but to be honest it did not really bother us.

There is a TV in the room, be aware this had an adult movie channel if you are traveling with children. No hairdryer and no tea and coffee. There is a vending machine for chocolate, beer and soft drinks and a great bar service. Breakfast was really nice continental and English breakfast and the guys are really friendly.

To get to the Botel take the free ferry! Basically go out the back of central station cross the road, watch out for cyclists as they do not stop and will shout at you! Go to your left and take the furthest ferry on the left, it takes 12 mins and then 5 mins if that to get to the Botel, which you can see from the ferry. The ferry's are very regular and run from 0700- late.

We went out in the morning and came back late afternoon and then out again for the evening and it was no problem at all. There is a bar close by to the Botel if you do not feel like going back out and the bar at the Botel also does food.

Public transport in Amsterdam is way better than in the UK - always on time, clean and comfortable, we got a tram pass for two days and used all the transport links.

If your looking for a more comfortable hotel in the city center then perhaps this is not the one for you but if you don't mind taking a short ferry ride and having a smaller room then this will work well for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the boat that faces the sub. We were in the basement and this was close to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We used this hotel for our three night stay in Amsterdam and really enjoyed our time there. The location might not to be everbodys taste as its on the Noord canal, and the area is a little industrial (old port area), but to be honest, I don't think it should put people off. There is a free ferry to Centraal Station, and this runs regularly during the day (after 12pm, there is a shuttle bus run by the hotel).We had a canal side double (you need to request your preference at time of booking, & canal side views are nicer).The room was basic, but decently comfy-big bed, tv with several language channels (BBC news channel & Olympics was sufficient for us), couple of chairs & a dressing table. The bathroom was tiny-shower, loo & sink and some may struggle with it. The shower took some working-really hot water if you're not careful, and the shower curtain did'nt keep the water in the shower tray, but you get used to it & manage! You have to request a hairdryer, but they do refund the deposit (guess they've had loads nicked then!).
Breakfast was fine-choice of continental but also bacon, beans etc, and you could have as much as you want. There is a small but well stocked bar, and they do offer simple snacks and it was nice to chill in after a busy day in the city-pool table, darts, pin ball machine are there for those who want them. Free wi-fi internet is available which is a bonus.
All the staff were friendly & helpful, and the hotel was clean in all areas. This is a good budget hotel, and we will definatly return as we loved Amsterdam & want to see more!

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Amstel Botel twice, in 2011 and in 2012.
The reason we went for the second time was that we liked the experience of being on a boat (including the ferry ride to and from the hotel).
After reading reviews on various hotels before our first trip to Amsterdam, our most important criterion for the room was the absence of bedbugs, and luckily Botel satisfied us in this respect. Everything was clean, but it is true that the bathroom facilities are really tiny, definitely not convenient for people other than size S. The bed, on the contrary, was really big (and comfortable).
This year, we stayed one floor higher than in 2011 and noticed that the rocking was more perceptible this time.
Last year internet access was not free (and the cost was totally unreasonable). This year, they have included free wifi, although we were unable to connect during peak hours (in the evening); the other times the connection was ok.
The breakfast was very good, and the staff were really helpful and nice on all occasions.
All in all, Amsterdam being an expensive city, I would say that Botel is good value for money and it has the advantage of providing a unique boat experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We choosed Amstel Botel having read the reviews in T.A. and we are happy for our selection.
We stayed there for three rainy days and and we welcomed the fact that the free ferry connection with the train station was very convenient for getting around the city.
It is a basic no frills hotel with an average breakfast. The room, although small with a tiny bathroom, was clean and offered a nice sea view.
Botel is a good budget choice which gets an extra star -from 3 to 4- for its kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed at this 'hotel' 3 times at the old location a bit apprehensive about the new location but it was spot on no problem getting to & from Central Amsterdam. 1 min from central station to the frequent ferry then a 2 min walk, the free minibus service worked spot on.
The rooms are a bit small & basic but clean and tidy, nice bar area & breakfast area also a nice bar/restaurant just outside for a change.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.