We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Hotel to your Saves list
Agora Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“City break Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked this hotel back in November 2012, so when we arrived and found that we had a room in the attic of a traditional Amsterdam house was a surprise. Three steep staircases, you needed climbing gear. This would have been a real bad surprise for someone old or very young.
The room was very small and in need of decorating but clean, bathroom was a shared with two other rooms but very clean.
Location good five minute walk to dam square, right next to the bulb market. Breakfast basic but good, scrambled egg, toast, bacon, cheese, ham, cereals and croissants. Roof above dinning area glazed affair which was in a very poor state, cracked glass and dirty.
Hotel needs a bit of TLC all round, shame because very good location.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a low room number below 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    50
    32
    35
See reviews for
16
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Agora is a very nice hotel suited for budget travelers. Located near the Flower Market, it provides easy accessibility to all the attractions of the city. The shopping district, Dam Square are all very close. There is a Supermarket around the corner.The tram station is a minute's walk. It is clean, comfortable with a good hot breakfast. And the rooms are good size compared to other Amsterdam Hotels. The staff is friendly.We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Quaint Amsterdam hotel. Central location, 3-4 tram stops from train station, walking distance to museums, restaurants. No lift. Attentive, informative staff, great rates, fantastic American-style breakfast. Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and I was satisfy with room. The room looked to inner yard and it was quite, so nothing disturbe us. Staff was freindly and helpful. Breakfast was good too.
It is very easy to find the hotel, because it is few meters after flower market. If you arive at Central station in Amsterdam just ask for 'Flower market' and the hotel is on the same side of canal where the market is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited Agora hotel with my family, so we had 8 hotelrooms in total. I can give a fair view on the standard of this hotel as i saw all of them.

We, like others, had used tripadvisor (which my grandparents who booked the hotel had not) to see what the hotel were like for the weekend in Amsterdam, so we had managed our expectations somewhat (from other travellers reviews).

We were first given hotelroom 21 that absolutely stank of laundry that had been forgotten (wet laundry) so we were given room 35 ( tiny with a bathroom in the hall). Another part of my family were given room next door ( i think room 34).
The room they received were very dirty and some of the worst were: black hair in the bathtub day 2 (they are all blondes) so not ours, underneath frames there were a lot of black marks and fluids also a broken lamp. Our room was dirty, bathroom clean.

Our bed was clean ( even though my BF refused to sleep under the dyvet) but underneath the madress some questionable spots had not been cleaned for a long time.

My brother found blood stains on his pillow and in the bathroom... Most of the rooms needed seriouse cleaning (6 out of the 8 i saw)

Luckily ( thank to tripadvisor) we knew that the club next door could make the night and sleep impossible so we checked out saturday as a party was going on for the night. My family in room 35 did not and could not sleep before 5 am...
So check out if a party is on.

That said: staff were nice to us and location is as central as anything (
that is a big plus). Breakfast enough to start the day.
However they will never get my business again, sorry.

Book this if you dont care about bugs, your health, noise and cleaning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Hotel

Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Agora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.