We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, terrible standards...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Hotel to your Saves list
Agora Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
København
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, terrible standards...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited Agora hotel with my family, so we had 8 hotelrooms in total. I can give a fair view on the standard of this hotel as i saw all of them.

We, like others, had used tripadvisor (which my grandparents who booked the hotel had not) to see what the hotel were like for the weekend in Amsterdam, so we had managed our expectations somewhat (from other travellers reviews).

We were first given hotelroom 21 that absolutely stank of laundry that had been forgotten (wet laundry) so we were given room 35 ( tiny with a bathroom in the hall). Another part of my family were given room next door ( i think room 34).
The room they received were very dirty and some of the worst were: black hair in the bathtub day 2 (they are all blondes) so not ours, underneath frames there were a lot of black marks and fluids also a broken lamp. Our room was dirty, bathroom clean.

Our bed was clean ( even though my BF refused to sleep under the dyvet) but underneath the madress some questionable spots had not been cleaned for a long time.

My brother found blood stains on his pillow and in the bathroom... Most of the rooms needed seriouse cleaning (6 out of the 8 i saw)

Luckily ( thank to tripadvisor) we knew that the club next door could make the night and sleep impossible so we checked out saturday as a party was going on for the night. My family in room 35 did not and could not sleep before 5 am...
So check out if a party is on.

That said: staff were nice to us and location is as central as anything (
that is a big plus). Breakfast enough to start the day.
However they will never get my business again, sorry.

Book this if you dont care about bugs, your health, noise and cleaning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    50
    32
    35
See reviews for
16
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Agora is conveniently located near Tram stops and on a canal near the Dam and within walking distance of many tourist attractions. We only had about 16 hours to spend in Amsterdam and we were able to walk around and get the flavor of the central city, while feeling safe. The room was a bit funky (not a glitzy Hilton) on the order of older European hotels. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was courteous, polite and fluent in English. The breakfast was adequate: it was the usual "petit dejeuner" of older European establishments; not recommended for hearty eaters. Our room on the Canal was not terribly noisy; we could hear the Tram going by, but foot traffic was not raucous, nor did it keep us awake. (Perhaps in high summer, it might be noisier?) As two 60+ American women, we felt safe in the establishment and also in the neighborhood. Considering the cost of other hotels in the central city, the Agora was a good value. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone not wishing to stay in a chrome and glass modern hostelry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

exellent location and breakfast was enough to get you going in the morn.staff were ok,rooms need to be updated,bed was fine as was the shower but the walls are thin.window in the room was held open with a piece of timber.stairs and hallway have a bad smell and very dark.check out was 11am and they rang at 5 past to tell us time was up.toilet in reception was in need of some attention,no paper towel and the bin was over flowing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel was very central and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included; simple but it allowed us to get a quick start on the day and manage our expenses.
The linins were clean and the bathroom was generally clean. The rooms and the common areas were very tired. Internet is free and there is a computer in the breakfast area that is available for your use, which is great for ON LINE Check In.

Room Tip: room 28 was quiet. the bar on the right side as you face the hotel creates noise on the weekend but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff, furnishings and decor badly need to be brightened, freshened and updated. Very dated appearance and dull. Loose electrical wires in bedroom. Old and rickety furnishings. Good location. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've now stayed at this hotel 3 times. It is in a great location and easy to get to via tram from Central Station. The rooms / hotel just needs a new paint job and freshen up. In the room I was in had some wires which were sticking out the bathroom wall. They had been tapped up but this is not good for paying guests. Breakfast acceptable and will def stay again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Hotel

Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agora Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Agora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.