We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Isaan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Isaan
Kapelstraat 51 | 1404 HW Bussum, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 35 524 7676
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,617 of 2,468 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Peize
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Bussum and let the kids decide on the food. They wanted to eat Thai food, so we ended up here. I'm glad we did :-) The mixed appetizer plate was delicious, as were the main dishes we ordered. Especially the duck was magnificent! Very friendly staff and great value for money. Will definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Cute hidden restaurant on one of the less busy streets of Amsterdam. The food was amazing and the wait staff very friendly. Do not hesitate to give this place a try. We are from California and eat Thai food all the time. This place is definitely one of the best we've ever tried!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schaumburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mamas place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Family run wwith Mama in the kitchen. Cozy with a homey feeling. Authentic Thai food, and friendly wait staff. Try the chicken wing appetizer and tom yum soup.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little Thai place in Bussum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I found this lovely little place off the main road that goes from the freeway to the train line through Bussum. The food was really nice, and the ambience very pleasant, with nice dim lighting seems like it must be different to the Amsterdam restaurant on that score.
The Thai staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and I found the food to be very authentic, not Dutchified. I had a duck red curry that was so nice... I wanted another plate for dessert but refrained. My friend had the classic green coconut chicken curry which was also superb so I ate as much of that as I could get. They don't use any MSG. I asked because the food was so lekker!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We found this place when it had just opened on its first day. Food was excellent, staff very keen to please and provided good service. The only thing I think they could improve is the lighting which was a bit brash - too much like a cafeteria - but we would still recommend this place. Good luck for your new restaurant. I'm sure you will do well

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Isaan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Isaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Isaan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.