We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Pelmo

Monte Pelmo
2nd Anjeliersdwarsstraat | 17 NS 1015 AMSTERDAM, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20 623 09 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best gelato in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This small family-owned gelato shop should not be missed if you are in Amsterdam. Gelato is made fresh daily and served with a smile. Flavors are rotated to take advantage of seasonal ingredients at their peak of flavor. It is well-known to the locals who gather on the sidewalk to eat and chat. Although it is closed to the public in winter, they provide this gourmet treat to many restaurants in Amsterdam throughout the year. We stopped by every day to try out new flavors and old favorites and were never disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Italian ice cream in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Find a good ice cream in Amsterdam is not so easy... That is the reason this ice cream is so special.
They have the Italian "spirit".
Normally is a place that open 6 months per year... so if you are walking around the Jordaan area it is good to try some of the nice flavors they have.
They are in a street which have many restaurants and some people like to have a dessert there as we had once.
You can choose different sizes and flavors and the price is quite good for the quality you get.
They are open since 10.00 to 22.00 in Summer...
The service is normal. They are really trying to make the queue smaller.
Recommendation: if you want an ice go for this. Wait 10 or 15 minutes to queue up, but get something good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous little after dinner treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

On both occasions we visited Monte Pelmo, there was a huge queue so we decided to queue up too and find out why. This seems to be a popular post dinner stop in the Jordaan and we were not surprised that the ice cream is fabulous! We sampled the cheesecake, stroopwaffel and the heavenly yoghurt ice cream, all of which were completely moreish. We couldn't help returning the next day and noted that lots of new flavours were available. Thankfully the aforementioned yoghurt ice cream was still available. The ice cream is very reasonably priced and the scores of people we saw walking around with little tubs and smiles on their faces spoke volumes about the quality of the product. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved the ice-cream and the round biscuit on top - it really is needed. Always tried the creamy/coffee/caramel flavors. Havent tried any of the fruity ones because everyday there was a new flavor that I drooled over the name of and went straight ahead to. Their ice-cream is homemade so they juggle around the flavors on the menu everyday but Im sure you will always find something good. Highly recommended flavor: Stroopwaffel cheescake!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We visited Monte Pelmo for the second time tonight. Both times it had a long line and the ice cream was consistently good. The first night I got chocolate and strawberry. The chocolate was good but subtle, and the strawberry was more of a sorbet. Tonight I got caramel and white chocolate. The caramel was great,t he white chocolate was good but had a serious liquor taste.

There is nothing special about the service - they are trying to quickly get through long lines and they do so with a good attitude.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Pelmo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Monte Pelmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Pelmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.