We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piqniq

Piqniq
Lindengracht 59 hs, 1015 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 3203669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: PIQNIQ: for your breakfast, lunch & high tea in the Jordaan area in Amsterdam PIQNIQ as in picnic? Yes, something like that. PIQNIQ is derived from the French word for picnic; pique a nique. Pique means 'choose or pick something' while nique stands for 'a litlle something' means. So PIQNIQ refers to a variety of small dishes of which you can choose from, just like a picnic in the country. At PIQNIQ you are invited to choose from our variety of small sweet & savory dishes and enjoying them in our nice natural restaurant in a typical golden age Amsterdam surrounding while looking at the life on the street, reading a newspaper/magazine/book or take pleasure in a conversation with your table companion(s).At PIQNIQ we serve breakfast, lunch, coffee and tea with sweet bites, fresh juices, smoothies, a quality glass of wine and cold beers. You can also order for a special treat at the office or to take with you to the park or on your boat tour. Take a look at our website for the different possibilities and the menu. We are open daily from 09.00 am. till 05:30 pm.
Llanwddyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I went here for breakfast on a day trip to Amsterdam. The furnishings are very cosy and warm so very suitable for the cold morning that it was! The staff were welcoming but (importantly, in my opinion) unobtrusive. The food was adequately-priced and -portioned but fresh and tasty. It seemed slightly off the tourist trail and popular with locals and young mothers with their children. The staff all spoke excellent English.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Julian, California
2 reviews
“Lovely for a Light Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I am here for a long holiday with a foodie friend, and this place really takes the cake when it comes to food. The prices are amazing and the system here is genius. Don't expect to have a huge lunch that inhibits movement afterward, but instead expect delicious, freshly prepared small meals (of which you can choose two to three of them) as well as a huge array of daily specials.

I would honestly recommend this place for a light lunch, and a must visit while in Amsterdam. It's also in a lovely corner of Amsterdam so make sure to make it a part of your itinerary :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe - Picnic style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This little cafe/restaurant is a really cute find and worth the walk to find. its in picnic style so it has a poppy field painted on the wall, the tables are wooden and some tables even have picnic blankets to place over your knee. the idea is to choose any drink and 3 items (10euros pp) from their specials board or their main menu. the items come in picnic size. you can have a cheaper option of 2 items and a drink or you can just have one item for 3euros. the food is amazing lots of time and care taken in making the food. you have to try the hot chocolate its to die for!!! i had the nicest mini quiche i've ever had here and i will try and receate it. very nice treat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place for your lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

After walking around all day it was finally nice to grab some light lunch. This place was a great find. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The atmosphere was great, based around a picnic setting, the tables also had a nice touch adding blankets. The cafe was on the small side but this didn't bother us.

The menu was simple. You can choose three small items for your list. Or another option is to buy tea and choose some cakes to have with it. The prices are fine for what it is. The food was amazing and it fills you up for the rest of the day. Also free WiFi !!!

If your looking for a cute place for lunch with friends or a loved one than this is the place. You must have the hot chocolate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the Piqniq breakfast shared between 2 and it was fresh, tasty and wholesome. Pleasant staff who are keen tp please.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piqniq also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Piqniq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piqniq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.