We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stops from Schiphol and one to Amsterdam Centraal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
PORT ALLEGANY
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Two stops from Schiphol and one to Amsterdam Centraal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Located next to the train station, down the stairs to the entrance where the reception staff also tend the adjacent bar. We arrived midmorning from our flight and were offered comp drinks (perhaps thanks to Platinum status) as our room was not yet ready. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms have contemporary furnishings, but no iron or ironing board. After I called to request one a couple of times ("all in use") I was offered use of one set up in the conference room behind the breakfast area. The breakfast buffet is ample with the traditional Dutch breakfast offerings of breads (yummy croissants), sliced meats, cheeses, jam, peanut butter, tomatoes, cucumbers, olive oil, and hagelslag (chocolate sprinkles), fruit, yogurt, and cereals. The Douwe Egberts coffee machine offers about a dozen options. One morning we arrived towards the end of the breakfast, which runs til 10:30 and the staff visited all the tables to see if anyone yet wanted anything from the buffet. If you get an NS chipcard at Schiphol, this hotel could be your starting point to all of the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side away from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at Holiday Inn Express. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    304
    76
    17
    8
See reviews for
78
271
25
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We got to the hotel early, to store our luggages so we can wonder area Amsterdam. First plus point was, they allowed us to have breakfast, and then stored our luggages and gave us a map to get around and what buses, tram or train to take. Hotel location is right outside the Sloterdijk station, all transportation is available to you. Central station can be easily reached, 5 mins by train. Free internet, and free breakfast available. Internet, was like I never left home, and was able to stream a film. As a Priority card member, my room was also upgraded to the 7th floor. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we are always happy to welcome a IHG Rewards club member at Holiday Inn Express. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Decided to stay on this side of town and take advantage of the hotel proximity to the train station. Was just an overnight visit and wanted to see several things before leaving.
Was my second trip to Amsterdam and was familiar with the town layout.
Worked out perfectly.

Rooms are nice and clean. Typical European sized beds and bathrooms.
Free Wifi is provided and works very well.
Hotel staff are very informative with any of your questions.
Located one stop away from Central Station you are in the middle of everything.

Would stay here again for sure!!!
Already thinking about my next visit to Amsterdam !!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express. We are very pleased with your comments and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Immediately next to the station and only one train stop from Amsterdam central, an easy and inexpensive commute, and a cheaper option than hotels in Amsterdam centre.
The staff were probably the most courteous and helpful that we have encountered on our many travels and little gestures like letting us access our room as soon as we arrived were much appreciated.
The price-included continental breakfast was a really good fresh spread, and there wasn't anything that looked depleted, everything was re-stocked quickly, and tables cleared quickly too.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. But would just check if your room overlooks the station if you are bothered about train noise.

Room Tip: If you think you may be bothered by train noise from the adjacent railway lines, ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding your stay with us. Please come back soon, it will be a pleasure to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Room was very clean and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. On check in we were given a map of the city and told all travel routes to and from the hotel to the city centre which we would have been lost without. The free breakfast in the mornings was great too. I had read reviews about the hotel being disturbed by noise from the trains however my partner and i did not hear any noise at all and we were only on the 2nd floor! I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location is perfect for visiting Amsterdam as the hotel is attached to a main train, bus and tram station. We were one stop away from the central train station in Amsterdam so it was very easy and efficient to get anywhere. The hotel itself was very good and the staff were very accommodating. We initially booked for 3 nights but unexpectedly needed to arrive one day earlier and we needed an extra bed for that first night. Staff graciously accommodated our requests. The rooms were modern, clean and quiet so we had good sleep. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent with lots of choice....and fresh! We spent most of our time in Amsterdam but had a couple of dinners at the restaurant close to the hotel HERMES. While not part of the Holiday Inn, it was very close, had good food and great service.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the tram and bus station so you need to keep the windows closed at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location, facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The only issue that I had here was that could not find my reservation. Regrettably, this problem was initially handled by a new employee. Frustrating to say the least. After, a short period of time, the general manager took over, and resolved the issue.
The room was bright and pleasant. The general manager recommended a local restaurant for dinner, which worked out well.
The general manager also booked a taxi for us the following morning as it was too early for their shuttle service to the airport.
We were also to early for the complimentary breakfast, but the hotel provided us with croissants and coffee and tea.
The taxi (metered limousine) service was very good. The driver was friendly and informed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Freddie754,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon at Holiday Inn Express.

Best wishes,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.