We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel even if it is a bit out of centrum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #67 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great hotel even if it is a bit out of centrum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel even if it is a bit outside centrum. The hotel is of high quality, clean and decent and it feel safe. The breakfast is okey and standard and enough. Staff is friendly and helpfull. I miss safety box at room, should be standard. Otherwise the room was quite, large, nice and clean. Then bed was a bit to hard for me, prefer a more standard bed.
I used Tram number 12 every day, buy a day card or single. The Tram is just outside the hotel. There are serveral options to Tram but I never used them. Close to Shiphol, just two stops and about 20 minutes.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Anders P H,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and valued our hotel, facilities and team.

For your next stay; we have safe deposit boxes available at reception for your convenience.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    403
    103
    20
    8
See reviews for
105
348
33
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked this hotel stay for my daughter Cathryn who is traveling across Europe. She was staying in hostels with her friend and I wanted to treat them to a few nights in a reputable but affordable hotel. After researching many different hotels on Trip Advisor, I found this hotel. My daughter just arrived there (7/17) and says it is absolutely fabulous! The reviews that stated the air conditioning doesn't work appear to be inaccurate as my daughter says, "those Trip Advisor people that said the a/c doesn't work are crazy - it's perfectly cool in our lovely room". They are looking forward to the free breakfast tomorrow but were also very pleasantly surprised by the coffee and tea tray this is complimentary and in the room upon arrival. It is those little aspects that make for a lovely stay and I am very pleased that we found this hotel for them. THANK YOU Holiday Inn Express Sloterdijk for making their stay so comfortable and safe. We are also planning on coming to Amsterdam for vacation next year with some friends and are now looking forward to spending our vacation at your fine hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear MaryRN66,

Thank you for choosing us for your daughter's stay. We are happy to read that she enjoyed her stay with us and we would love to welcome your family soon at Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family of four spent two nights at this hotel to explore Amsterdam. The location is very convenient-proximity to bus and train services is a definite plus. Downtown is only a couple of stops away and the rooms are relatively quiet. The hotel has a comprehensive, standard buffet breakfast which is a plus as the area does not have any other eating spot in the immediate vicinity.
I found mostly business travelers staying at the hotel, but it would work well for seniors and young families too.
We took the 24 hr City bus and canal tour hop on-hop off pass and it was great decision! I highly recommend it as a few hours in one of Amsterdam's excellent museums leaves a visitor too weary for any other exertion than a relaxing canal boat ride!
Ask the reception for maps and advice and they will guide you to the best times to visit museums, places to shop and dine!
I would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Simple, smart, spot on as they say!!! everything you expect from a Express brand. Easy transportation links to train and bus. Two stops from the train to either side to airport and city center. Lovely continental breakfast options. Will definitely chose this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Zed N,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon at Holiday Inn Express.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Three of us stayed 5 nights for work payin €144 each per night. The rooms are OK but small, noisy because of the proximity to the train station. The hotel is designed for people staying overnight, no drawers/wardrobes just some hanging space and shelves. There was no mattress protector on the bed and although the bed was made daily the towels were exactly where I left them not folded or replaced. Very basic buffet breakfast, no restaurant for other meals only a curry vending machine in lobby! As the location is like an industrial area there are few places to eat nearby.
Our colleagues stayed around the corner at the Golden tulip for €80 - a far superior hotel with an excellent buffet restaurant and proper bar. We will stay here if we have to go back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us. Being a Holiday Inn Express, we stand for a good night sleep, free continental breakfast, free wifi and great service. It is part of our formula to not have a restaurant (many many options in Amsterdam for that) and a small wardrobe for your convenience. We are sorry that Holiday Inn Express is not your type of hotel and we hope to welcome you in one of our other hotel brands within our hotelgroup IHG.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

stayed 2 nights as good base to explore amsterdam.

room was clean and tidy and although on a lower floor noise wasnt the issue.

The room was just too warm to be bearable.

The hotel operates a central heating system and the room thermostat had no effect on the coolness of the room. Staff advised that although the room thermostat goes down to 19C the room wont get that cool and they cant change the hotel setting, its a Thursday afternoon. Staff advised that room is warm as its a hot day. So whats the point of a thermostat?

No fans provided and due to the room temperature being a static 24C we would never stay here again as their climate control system is not fit for purpose.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate your comments as we need them to improve our service and quality. We are very sorry that you found your room too hot. We only have a few hot days a year in Amsterdam, and our climate control system cannot always beat the heat at those moments. We are sorry to read that you were not offered a fan and have discussed this very simple solution to your problem with our team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in a different season.

Best wishes,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great Location, it was next to the tram station so within 8 mins you'd be in the central district of Amsterdam. There is a bar, some food and free breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean/ modern and had some unique design with the lighting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write this positive review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#147 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.