We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, very nice hotel, staff helpful and friendly, It is 10 to 15 minutes on bus no 48 to Central Station, buy a 24 hr ticket on the bus it's cheaper and works on the trams. We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear trains, the front of the hotel is being refurbished.

Room Tip: No Pool ticked box by accident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Terry S,

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    308
    76
    17
    8
See reviews for
78
274
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

very nice, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, clean, good situated not in the center but good further conection with tram and bus, only 20 minutes by bus to the center or less by train. For business travels great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sebastian S,

Greetings from sunny Amsterdam! Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I spent last night in this hotel and slept very little as i was on the 7th floor and was disturbed into the early hours and then again from 0500hrs by train noise. It claims , ''Everything you need to guarantee a good night sleep'' except quiet!! It also states double glazing but this makes no difference. So if you are happy with such noise and lack of sleep this is the hotel for you. Besides this outside there is work going on and you get sand blasted by the wind and sand around the hotel as its a building site! Finally the free breakfast is nothing more than continetal breakfast so do not be mislead about the breakfast you get. All this for €172.25 pre booked a few weeks ago and not value for money in any way. Whilst i was complaining to the reception she says she will mention it to the manager who i think was stood behind her listening but did not intervene so i guess i will hear nothing from them. I have more bookings with them over the next few months but i can assure you i will be changing them from this hotel

Room Tip: do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Michael D,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station on Tripadvisor. Your comment is very precious for us to understand why you did not fully enjoy your stay. I am very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations as much as we aimed to. Be sure your feedback will be taken in consideration by my team to change and improve our guests experience.

Please allow me to mention that the renovation work on Orlyplein is coming to an end, and that we are going to investigate the sound of the trains in your room. Since all our rooms have sound proof windows, I was very worried to read your comments and I will investigate what the problem can be. Please accept our sincere apologies that our complimentary continental breakfast did not meet your expectations.

If you plan to come back to Amsterdam and give Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station a second chance please let me know. I would personally make sure you have a better time with us!

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clean rooms, alert room service, adequate breakfast buffet, friendly staff except for the receptionist tht we met once we arrived
It is located in the sloterdijk station 5 min by intercity train, which is more convenient than tram or bus but more costly 9 euros for a couple return tickets

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sara D,

Thank you for your stay with us, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Would you be so kind to contact me personally at gm.amsop@hiex.nl to give me more details about your experience upon arrival?

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Modern, clean, 5 minutes by train to centraal, 10 minutes to schiphol. big rooms, good breakfast (just don't arrive at 08:30!). The train service runs late so you can eat in the centre then get a late train back to sloterdijk.

Room Tip: Ask for side away from station if you are bothered by train noise although this doesn't continue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear CarshaltonDon,

Greetings from Amsterdam! We are very pleased with your review and would like to thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a far superior Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast is good with a range of the usual continental fare. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. Found the trains easy to use and very quick - only one stop to Amsterdam Central. The yellow ticket machines all have touch screens which have the option of English. Worth mentioning is the range of shops in the station where you can get some very good quality and cheap snacks.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had very little noise from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear groovyson,,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased to read your positive review regarding our location, the hotel and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Location very convenient, right beside train station! Very close to Amsterdam central.Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very spacious and breakfast a winner! Overall a great experience and a great location. Couldn't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear RNG123,

Thank you for your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you choose us for your stay in Amsterdam and happy to read that you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.