We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for transportation not much nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for transportation not much nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a newer HI Express. Great staff , good breakfast but short on hot foods, more like an American hotel five years ago. Big plus it is next to transportation hub for trains, buses, and tram. However the city pass does not work for trains so a separate expense. Easy connection to airport. I would stay here again. Biggest negative no restaurants nearby so you must travel for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Clinton M,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Please be informed that there are 2 restaurants in walking distance of the hotel, who are happy to welcome you during weekdays.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    264
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
68
238
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shimla, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good location. Very Busy with tourist group. Nice staff. Breakfast could be better and are over worked when it get busy. Room need to be cleaned properly. Foot rest was dusty. Coffee cup was not washed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Mel160470,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time to provide us with this valuable feedback.
Rest assured that your comments have been discussed with housekeeping and the right action has been taken.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in April for a few days after travelling from Bruges and the UK. Travelling by car we had everything in there form our journey from Newcastle. I booked this hotel because of the car parking as the hotels in Amsterdam did have limited parking.

Parking here is expensive so be aware. I looked before hand that there was parking at the train station with free access to a bike for a much cheaper rate, but I couldn't find it, nor did the hotel know about parking at the train station, although they did try and help.

The hotel is new, clean and efficient. It really stands up to the job. Rooms are fantastic and bathroms are amazing. Breakfast was plentiful continental and satisfying.

The hotel is situated right on the train station (trainspotters dream) while only being one stop and a few minutes away from Amsterdam central. Tickets can be purchased inside Sloterdijk train station for a couple of euros return.

Travelling back to Amsterdam if we were again soon, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Godscrasher,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Please be aware that parking in the city centre of Amsterdam is an average of EUR 5.00 per hours, so compared to that, EUR 15.00 per night is a reasonable price.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was extremely easy to get to from the airport. Within 10 mins of getting on the train we were in the lobby checking in. Transport into the city is easy and not expensive. However there is no food served in the evenings in the hotel restaurant and not much nearby. There was a great restaurant right outside the hotel (looks like a diner) that served great food but some nights it randomly wasn't open. Rooms were quite nice but overall I found it slightly overpriced. For the event I attended nearby I'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear SuzyKyu,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for valuable feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your possible return in the future.

As part of the Holiday Inn Express Formula, we do not have a restaurant ourselves, and it is indeed correct that the 2 restaurants in the neighbourhood are closed in the weekends. We hope this will change and we are pleased that a third restaurant is opening soon.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is one of the few hotels I was actually was looking forward to coming home to. Nice, quiet peaceful, clean and spacious room. Free wi-fi access and a delicious breakfast. Staff is very friendly. You are steps away from the Sloterdijk Train station, 3 stops (if I remember correctly) to Amsterdam's main train station. Such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Christina S,
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

While attending a conference in De Westergasfabriek I stayed in Holiday Inn Express for one night. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. The airconditioning is great, it works like a charm while you don't hear a thing! I had a room on the station-side, which can be noisy due to the trains or intercom. I could not sleep without closing my window, that's the only downside.

The hotel is located near station Amsterdam-Sloterdijk from which you can take a train to Centraal Station (central station) and start your visit to the center of Amsterdam.

Parking is available for about €20,- a day, which is kinda expensive.

The breakfast was just ok. If you, like me, want an English breakfast you'll be disappointed. They "only" have fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit, etc. No scrambled eggs, sausages, beans or whatsoever.

All in all, good hotel for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back (so: not the station side). Otherwise you'll need to keep your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear EwoutW,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Please be informed that parking is EUR 15.00 per night in stead of EUR 20.00.
As part of the Holiday Inn Express formula, we offer complimentary continental breakfast with local offerings, we are sorry to read that this did not meet your expectations.

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Normal I'm travelling and prefer to stay with Holiday Inn Hotel, this is the one that make me feel lost as staff and duty manager is not much helpful and do not even know a word as service mind. location is very good as per an advertise, but staff need to looking into a customer need.

Room Tip: Room face to a railway station is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Peter C,
Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay. We are very sorry to read your feedback regarding our service. We daily strive for high service with our whole team, and we are sorry that we did not succeed in this during your stay.
Would you please be so kind to contact me personally to give me some more detailed information?

Kind Regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.