We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #59 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ayr, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An excellent base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is a short train journey from Schipol Airport and even closer journey to Amsterdam Centraal Station which makes it easy to explore the city. The facilities in the hotel are excellent, the staff are very friendly and knowledgable, the rooms and bed are very comfortable. There is a slight noise from the passing trains, but not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear an honest man,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    276
    70
    16
    8
See reviews for
72
245
25
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 36 last weekend. The Staff were friendly and courteous. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was good, varied and plentiful.
A special thanks to the two Receptionists who were on duty on Saturday night, they were very helpful.
The hotel was only one stop away by Train, from the city centre and Tram 12 was just across the road.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear 798walker,
Thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very good location with train station as soon as you step out of the hotel with frequent trains to Central station. Clean and good sized rooms and friendly staff. A decent breakfast and close to airport. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Coprams,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiseraugst
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

At first sight it doesn' look so good, because it is a little difficult to find but after that the hotel is super, it is very clean, breakfast it is good, great value for your money, even it is not right downtown, public transportacion which is right outside the door with direct bus to downtown and by train and bus your choise you reach the Airport.
We were very happy with this choice. If we come back again we will stay again in this hotel not doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Maria C,

Thank you for staying with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon, we would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

At first sight, this hotel may not seem the best place to stay if exploring the city but don't let first impressions deceive you. The public transport is available right outside the door with a direct bus into the city running every 10 minutes. Also situated at the train station, the train links with the airport are outstanding. The quietness of the hotel is amazing considering the train station location, we were not disturbed by train noise at all during our 3 night stay. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfy and clean. The only downside is the lack of food available in the evenings but this is to be expected in a Holiday Inn Express and if you ask at reception they would be happy to recommend options to eat out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear LEH95,

Thank you very much for staying with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very much recommended for our location and we are happy to read that this was also a convenience for you.

Please come back soon, we would love to welcome you again.
Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

HI Express isn't our preferred chain when traveling domestically but this Amsterdam property was a welcome site when we arrived from the U.K.
The hotel is clean and bright, located literally next door to a major transit station. The rooms are exactly what one would find in a domestic location (except for no separate closet). So is the breakfast area (except, curiously in a land where waffles are loved, there was no waffle maker).
All employees we encountered were courteous and helpful and spoke excellent English (virtually everyone in the Netherlands speaks excellent English).
The only drawback is that it's located in an office building area, and there's very little to walk to, including only one nearby restaurant. But one only has to take a No. 48 bus about 15 minutes to central Amsterdam.
Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear RoswellDad,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Outside the centre of Amsterdam but only minutes by train from Schipol airport and very close to buses, trams and the metro (as well as the trains) so getting into the centre is very quick and easy. Perfect as a base for a few days sightseeing the hotel is clean, comfortable, has everything you need and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is the lack of places close by to eat. They do an excellent breakfast but no other meals and the Hermes restaurant on the doorstep - which is fine but not great - is not open at weekends. Get an iAmsterdam card and you can travel around as much as you like though. I spent four nights here and would be very happy to go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Lyn C,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As the Sloterdijk area is constantly improving and expanding, we hope to add a new restaurant to the area soon, so we can offer you a wider variety of food options. Fortunately we receive very good comments from our guests from the existing restaurants.

Thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.