We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and very good location for Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and very good location for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Excellent location, 10 min from airport and 15 min to downtown. 100 yd from Sloterdijk station where you can find convenience stores, fast food, pharmacy and trian tickets to sorrounding cities. There is atram no 12 that takes you directly to Van Gogh and Rijk museum. The bus #48 takes you to downtown in about 15 min. The breakfast is good, includes cereals, juice, fruits , bread, cheese and hams. The room are clean and air condition it works fine but it takes about 1 hour to reach the temperature requested due to the high efficiency system used. In summary a good option for your first trip to Amsterdam, good value for your money.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Dante_TX,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    270
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
69
242
25
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is exceptionally clean which is a huge plus! Breakfast was also very good, I don't normally eat hotel breakfasts but after my first foray downstairs I made sure to go back each morning.
Room was good, very pretty. A little small for two people, but it is Europe.
Front desk staff was wonderful. Every person we dealt with was friendly and helpful. You would think with the amount of tourists and groups they would get over-whelmed but they didn't.
The location is fantastic (even with the massive construction project) because of it's proximity to the Sloterdjik station. Bus, Tram or Train right outside of the hotel. You can buy some tickets right in the hotel front desk and they'll explain how everything works.

One tiny complaint, why no washcloths?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear tlm0000,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased that you appreciated our service, location and facilities. Oops, were you not informed about our washcloths? We have them available at reception upon request.

Please come back soon, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns, this ranks as the best I have experienced in terms of cleanliness, friendliness of staff and convenience for getting into or out of the city. Transport links are frequent and relatively cheap (but don't use the taxis!) The breakfast provision is comprehensive for a cold buffet. Though the hotel does not have a restaurant there is an excellent one (Hermes) right in front, within a couple of minutes walk. I would stay here again should I make a return visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review.
We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Best thing about this hotel is its location. Not exactly in the heart of the city, but right next to the Sloterdijk station. The train is just one stop from Amsterdam Centraal station - you are right into the middle of all action !

The tram no.12 too takes you directly to the Museum centre - Van Gogh is right there!

The hotel offers a decent breakfast buffet. The rooms are very clean and offer free wi-fi. My room in the 2nd floor was right next to the station, but I could hardly hear any noise. The staff are very friendly too. The lady at the desk helped me out with the locations around and also offered a complimentary cloak room service.

Happy with the service. Would be glad to stay here once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sanjay_GT,

Thank you for your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Pro: close to downtown (5 min train ride to Ams Centraal), good amenities, everything appears new and clean, very friendly staff

Cons: Hotel is essentially attached to the train station so you do get some good amount of noise from the trains coming into and leaving the station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear mikey23man,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are very happy with your comments regarding our location, cleanliness and staff and appreciate your comments regarding the sound of the trains. We will investigate the impact of our sound proof windows.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We came for a long weekend and stayed here as it was away from the centre and within budget. Absolutely lovely hotel, very modern and clean with very friendly staff who were always happy to help. The breakfast was very nice and all the surrounding rooms were immaculate. Right next to the train station and we were worried we'd hear a lot of noise but we didn't at all! The views weren't great but it didn't matter at all and we would all stay again and I would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Becky9182,

We are so pleased that you chose us for your stay in Amsterdam and would like to thank you for writing this review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

OK, so this is not on a canal, but here is why you should stay here. Easy access to central Amsterdam by adjacent train (4 1/2 minutes), direct tram to museum highlights, direct bus links to central station and other points, easy train excursion to towns around Amsterdam in minutes. I cannot say enough about the positive & helpful attitude of all front desk people, as well as the staff at breakfast. ....and speaking of breakfast, it is varied, voluminous, and value (included in rate). A bright open breakfast area with enough to give you a strong base till even a late lunch.We stayed with family of two young kids (4&7), and ourselves, and the welcome and consideration of needs of kids, parents and seniors was amazing. In case this sounds too positive, I can include a minor blip of internet access that was inconsistent, but hotel was working on this as we were leaving. In sum, great people, great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear CMT-JWT,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased with your kind words.
Fortunately the internet provider succeeded in resolving the problems with the internet and it is now up and running again.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.