We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good staff, well situated if prepared to use trains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #64 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value, good staff, well situated if prepared to use trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two, 2 night stays in Jan '14 and found it was good value. Had trip to London in between and staff looked after my case and laundry while I was away.
Not much to do in the hotel or immediate environs, but city centre only 20 mins away. Good office on the move with wifi/LAN connection that worked and breakfast included. Good value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for your time to write this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    265
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
68
238
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We took friends to Amsterdam overnight, just to hang out. It was great. There was underground parking so we didn't have problems with parking. Nice restaurant with great breakfast. Very clean rooms. Awesome staff. And everything was close by. I will definitely be making use of The Holiday Inn express again since even the price was great. Comfortable beds, spacious showers, and good food. Great experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Chocolatekitty59,

Thank you for choosing us and for your kind words.
We are very pleased with your comments regarding our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile



This is a very good hotel. For a trip of two days in amsterdam it's perfect. We couldn't believe it but the city is just 5 minuts with the train. Excellent breakfast almost everything to offer. Very good and helpfull staff we had a very nice check in with a receptionist from egypt her name is bekenam.
We will visit this hotel again in the summer.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear John8111,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
I will most definitely pass on your kind words to Bakenam and the rest of the team.
We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stay: 22Jan - 24Jan

There is a false sense of security at this Holiday Innn Express. The lobby is accessible to the public from street level. Access to the hotel rooms is by card reader in elevator, therefore don't expect a room safe to safeguard your valuables. Yes, the patrons room are secure from level 3 to 8 but not secure from hotel employees i.e.: housekeeping from pinching your property. We did not discover a digital camera and sterling bracelet missing until hours later when we arrived at our hotel in Istanbul later in the day.

By all means please don't allow my post to deter your stay, I would suggest taking your valuables with your on your day excursions.

Scott S. Bourne, Massachusetts USA

Room Tip: Pack light as there is no "in room" safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Scott S,

Thank your for your review. We were very sorry to read your comments regarding your sense of safety at our property. We are sorry that you did not have the time to contact us personally about this issue. We could have assured you that our hotel is very safe and secure and could have informed you that no one can access your room, unless necessary. We fully trust our team and with our camera system and other safety measures, we can investigate and therefore exclude that your items were missed at our property. Please contact me personally so this can be explained more into detail.

Thank you and warm regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sometimes there is this rare moment you are just looking for a cheap hotel and you wonder how it is possible that the price quality ratio can be that good in amsterdam. For Less than 70 euro's a place to sleep for 2 persons, breakfast for two persons, and a closed parking garage included in the price. Incredible :-) And then the quality of it all was also very good. Well if you want to make a remark the hotel was not in the city centre, and yes it was outside the ring so nothing for people without a car or other means of transportation. Breakfast was good, the bed was good, room was very good, garage was very good, people where friendly. I liked it, and will definitely go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Dutch747,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Sloterdijk (pronounced Sloter - dyke) for 2 nights with my sister. Was charged €4 Local City Tax on arrival. Stayed on the 2nd floor and wi-fi connect was strong! Also the TV takes a USB stick, so was able to watch a couple of shows. Hotel 5 minute walk from the station, less than 10 minutes via to Amsterdam Central. Standard Continental Breakfast as well as fresh hot boiled eggs (yum!) Would have given 5 stars, but 1. An alarm went off at 9.20 in the morning and 2. the receptionist tried to charge me Tourist Tax which is the same as Local Tourist tax.

Room Tip: If arriving by train from the airport, take the bus and tram exit out of the station and turn right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Tallie156,

Thank you visiting us, we were very pleased to welcome you as our guest.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay,
Please excuse us for the fire alarm in the morning. Fortunately, we found out within half a minute that the alarm was under control and caused by smoke from the toaster in the breakfast area. We are sorry to read that this was an inconvenience for you.
Due to the Dutch law, all hotels in Amsterdam have to charge 5% citytax over the roomrate. Please contact me personally if you have any more questions about this.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Very good value. Very accessible. Connected with bus, tram and train. Staff very helpful. Rooms very clean. Breakfast was great. Couldn't ask for more especially at the price. Go visit Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side of hotel (opposite side to station)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Brian B,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very pleased with your comments regarding our hotel, product and team.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.