We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very well set up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #64 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very well set up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family of five stayed for 2 nights 14 & 15 January 2013. We had to book three rooms as the hotel only caters for two per room. The hotel is new, clean, everything is where it should be and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. A good continental breakfast is included. There is a lovely lounge area to sit and do whatever. A small bar, prepackaged food to purchase plus noodles and microwave - great for teenagers.

Next door is the train station, tram and bus depot. We paid 15 euro for a 48 hour pass which includes the tram and bus (not the train). You can either catch the 48 bus to central station in the heart of Amsterdam or the number 12 trams to the Museum district. It is very easy to get around and so easy.

We had a car which we parked for 15 euro per day, which is ok for parking in Amsterdam. Street parking near the canals is 5.40 euro per hour!!!!

Room Tip: some rooms have doors joining each other. As you can only book two people per room it would be help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Forbesy66,

Thank you very much for your time to write your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    307
    76
    17
    8
See reviews for
78
273
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend 17th Jan 2014. Reception staff were perfect, hotel was lovely and clean, location was one stop on the train away.
The reason I have not given this 5* is because if you wanted a drink near the hotel! there was only one bar close by, which was ok though. However ever the intrepid explorer, we wandered and found a great bar called Pistols, which was a great little bar and reasonably priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tony S,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel, the staff and our location. Please come in and enjoy a drink in our cosy hotelbar upon your next stay, we would be pleased to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Spent the weekend in Amsterdam and stayed here. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Sloterdijk train station, with trains going into Amsterdam Central every 5 minutes or so and it's only a 6 minute journey - and unlike UK public transport it is on time and cheap - 4.80 euros for a return ticket.

The breakfast was good, although my partner would have liked some bacon and scrambled eggs on offer, as you can get in most HI expresses.

The staff were very cheerful and helpful and on checking in Yvonne on reception was really helpful, giving us all the information we needed - thank you.

There are only 2 downsides (1) there is only 1 restaurant close to the hotel, Hermes - which was very good but it is closed on Saturday and Sunday (2) there is no safe deposit box in the room, however they do have them by reception - personally I prefer a safe deposit box in the room.

The room is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express - clean, tidy and has all the standard amenities i.e. tv, tea/coffee facilities etc.

Would definitely recommend if you want to stay just outside of Amsterdam Central.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear ZeusMaidenhead,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the room and the team; I will pass your kind words on to Yvonne.

Being a Holiday Inn Express Hotel, we offer a complimentary continental breakfast, with a local touch. This means for our hotel, that we offer a variation of Dutch products. Regarding the safe deposit boxes; we offer these at the reception for the comfort of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very good hotel, excellent facilities. If you're looking to make a trip do Amsterdam, this hotel is perfect due to his location: train on 6min of Amsterdam Central, taxis, bus, tram, almsot everything on the next door.

Good staff, excellent rooms with all the main facilities needed for a city break.

Very good products on the breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear BrunoMachado7,

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your kind words and we would be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is a limited service hotel but room was very very clean, hot and TV was working perfectly. It is very close to metro station. The only thing main exit and the garage level can be mixed..I didnt use restaurant and other facilities of the hotel but only reception and they were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Ottomansultan,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is not too fancy, but it's the best place to stay if you don't want to spend too much money. The advantage is, many, so many trains going in many directions of Holland are passing by. The hotel is just in front of Metro Station Sloterdijk, in front of train station and near tram. The easy way that I reccomend is taking the train to Amsterdam to explore the capital ( only 10 minutes maximum and with trains every 10 minutes). Then, if you want to go to Schipol Airport, only 20 minutes max, and to other cities the direct line. Cheap, near city centre, near airport, near many cities.

Room Tip: Best place to explore both Amsterdam and many cities in Netherlands! Good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear CoriT_Bucharest,

Thank you for your time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants,UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel and was very impressed given the value for money (£47 a night on the weekend by booking the non refundable rate and 10% discount with free member card). The free buffet breakfast could not be faulted, warm croissants, fresh bread, boiled eggs, hams and cheeses, yogurts, cereal, amongst other things, good fruit selection and even really nice orange juice which is always the test! Also pineapple and apple juice. Rooms were very comfortable with large flat screen tv, free wifi and a lovely modern shower, lots of towels. Beds and bedding really nice. The bar was good too and free little bowls of peanuts served with drinks. The hotel was very convenient for me as I also work nearby, but staying here is only one stop away on the train line 5 mins to central station about 4euro return, so location is great for any visitor to the city. Of course no pretty view and the inconvenience that you have to get the train still but for the third of the price of a good hotel in the city centre (where you wouldn't get breakfast!) and still at 4 star equivalent in my opinion it's a brilliant option. I will be staying again and considering these hotels in other cities as its a great concept. The trains gave us no disturbance and food wise you really need to go to the city to eat, although we did have a quick take away pasta from Julia's in the train station which was really good actually and only 6euro or so for freshly prepared hot pasta in a box with fresh rocket and Parmesan. Last tip, ask reception for anything you need at all, they gave me a toothbrush and paste kit as I forgot mine and they lent us an adaptor. Also luggage room for left luggage. Really excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the non train side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Sapphire89,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate your comments regarding the hotel, the location, the facilities and our team.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.